Intelligent Tutoring Systems: Evolutions in Design

Front Cover
Hugh Burns, Carol A. Luckhardt, James W. Parlett, Carol L. Redfield
Psychology Press, Jan 14, 2014 - Psychology - 312 pages
This is a collection of essays on issues related to the evolutionary design and the practical future of intelligent tutoring systems. Following in the tradition of Foundations of Intelligent Tutoring Systems and Intelligent Tutoring Systems: Lessons Learned, this volume examines some of the visions and near-term issues that have been further explored and better defined since those groundbreaking books first appeared. Questions addressed in this volume include:

*How can knowledge bases generate explanations?
*Will case-based reasoning techniques be worth pursuing in the ITS framework?
*Will high performance skills be successfully taught in an ITS design?
*Are there dimensions of ITS design which the research laboratories are ignoring, and ignoring at the customer's peril?
Of particular importance to those engaged in research and development, this book will be of value to all who wish to apprise themselves of the advances being made in the rapidly evolving field of intelligent tutoring systems.
 

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Contents

Dimensions of Design
1
2 Managing Communication Knowledge
13
3 Interface Architectures for Intelligent Tutoring Systems
35
4 Design of a DomainIndependent ProblemSolving Instructional Strategy for Intelligent ComputerAssisted Instruction
69
5 ComputerAided Instructional Design Systems
105
6 Representing Acquiring and Reasoning About Tutoring Knowledge
127
7 Generating Coherent Explanations to Answer Students Questions
151
Techniques for CaseBased ITS
177
9 The Role of Domain Knowledge in the Design of an Intelligent Tutoring System
195
10 Representing and Teaching High Performance Tasks Within Intelligent Tutoring Systems
225
Policy and Methodological Issues for Training
243
12 The Future of Intelligent Tutoring Systems
265
Author Index
285
Subject Index
291
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

Bibliographic information