First Snow on Fuji

Front Cover
Counterpoint, 2000 - Fiction - 227 pages
2 Reviews
The stories of Yasunari Kawabata evoke an unmistakably Japanese atmosphere in their delicacy, understatement, and lyrical description. Like his later works, First Snow on Fuji is concerned with forms of presence and absence, with being, with memory and loss of memory, with not-knowing. Kawabata lets us slide into the lives of people who have been shattered by war, loss, and longing. These stories are beautiful and melancholy, filled with Kawabata's unerring vision of human psychology. First Snow on Fuji was originally published in Japan in 1958, ten years before Kawabata received the Nobel Prize. Kawabata selected the stories for this collection himself, and the result is a stunning assembly of disparate moods and genres. This new edition is the first to be published in English.

What people are saying - Write a review


User Review  - Jane Doe - Kirkus

First Snow On Fuji ($24.00; Sept.; 224 pp.; 1-58243-022-5). A fine collection of nine limpid stories (plus an enigmatic brief play), originally published in 1958 by Japan's first Nobel laureate (in ... Read full review

First Snow on Fuji

User Review  - Not Available - Book Verdict

In this first English rendering of nine short stories and one dance-drama published in 1958 by Nobel Prize winner Kawabata, the reader is quickly drawn into the lyrical sadness that pervades his ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2000)

Author Yasunari Kawabata was born in Osaka, Japan on June 14, 1899. He experienced numerous family deaths during his childhood including his parents, a sister, and his grandparents. He graduated from the Tokyo Imperial University in March 1924. He wrote both short stories including The Dancing Girl of Izu and novels including The Sound of the Mountains, Snow Country, Thousand Cranes, and The Old Capital. In 1959, he received the Goethe Medal in Frankfurt and in 1968 he won the Nobel Prize for Literature. He committed suicide on April 16, 1972.

Bibliographic information