To Defy a King

Front Cover
Sourcebooks, Inc., Mar 1, 2011 - Fiction - 544 pages
17 Reviews
An action-packed medieval novel from a USA Today bestselling author

Named the Historical Novel of the Year by the Romantic Novelist's Association in 2011, To Defy is King is a riveting novel of family loyalty and betrayal, featuring the daughter of William Marshal-one of Chadwick, and history's, most beloved characters.

The spirited daughter of England's greatest knight, Mahelt Marshal, lives a privileged life. But when her beloved father falls out with the volatile and dangerous King John, her world is shattered.

The king takes her brothers hostage and Mahelt's planned marriage to Hugh Bigod, son of the Earl of Norfolk, takes place sooner than she expected.

Mahelt and Hugh come to care for each other deeply, but Hugh's strict father clashes with the rebellious Mahelt. When more harsh demands from King John threaten to tear the couple's lives apart, Mahelt finds herself facing her worst fears alone. Caught between the family she was born in and the family she married into, Mahelt is uncertain if she-or her marriage-will survive.

Written with vivid detail and great historical accuracy, To Defy a King is an immersive historical novel of Medieval England. Fans of Philippa Gregory, Alison Weir, Sharon Kay Penman, and Bernard Cornwall will take pleasure in this well-crafted story of a vibrant, noble woman in a tyrant's world.

More Medieval Historical Fiction Titles from Elizabeth Chadwick:
Lady of the English- A medieval battle of the sexes
The Greatest Knight-the seldom told story of the Greatest Knight of the Middle Ages
The Summer Queen a novel of Eleanor of Aquitaine

What readers are saying about To Defy a King

"This is truly historical fiction at its finest."

"An enthralling historical fiction novel with superb characters and a remarkable story."

"I cried and laughed and could not stop reading, which is the formula for a five star novel for me!"

What reviewers are saying about To Defy a King

"...juicy chunks of violent medieval history you can enjoy in the climate-controlled safety of your own home." -USA Today

"The characters are wonderful fleshed out, individual, not stereotypical and graceful. The blend of action scenes and emotional scenes are well balanced."-The Maiden's Court

"Not only will you feel as though you are really in the story, but you will gasp in shock, smile, chuckle here and there, and at one point, shed a tear or two."-Book Babe

What people are saying about bestselling author Elizabeth Chadwick

"A star back in Britain, Elizabeth Chadwick is finally getting the attention she deserves here." USA Today

"Elizabeth Chadwick is to Medieval England what Philippa Gregory is to the Tudors and the Stuarts, and Bernard Cornwall to the Dark Ages."-Books Monthly, UK

"The best writer of medieval fiction currently around." -Historical Novels Review

"Chadwick is an icon for the historical fiction community for her ability to create a believable and passionate story based around major events of the era."-The Burton Review

"Breathing life into historical personages is hallmark Chadwick."-RT Book Reviews

"Picking up an Elizabeth Chadwick novel is like having a Bentley draw up at your door: you know you are in for a sumptuous ride." Daily Telegraph

 

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
9
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - justmeRosalie - LibraryThing

[TO DEFY A KING by Elizabeth Chadwick].... a historical novel set in the Plantagenet times when King John ruled England, focusing on Hugh Bigod, son of the Earl of Norfolk who marries Mehelt Marshall ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - ELEkstrom - LibraryThing

This story continues the story of William Marshal, but centers on his eldest daughter, Mahelt and her husband Hugh Bigod. The central characters of the third book, "For the King's Favor", Ida and ... Read full review

Contents

One
1
Two
10
Three
17
Four
29
Five
34
Six
39
Seven
46
Eight
52
Twentynine
314
Thirty
325
Thirtyone
337
Thirtytwo
343
Thirtythree
349
Thirtyfour
356
Thirtyfive
369
Thirtysix
376

Nine
67
Ten
78
Eleven
84
Twelve
93
Thirteen
109
Fourteen
114
Fifteen
131
Sixteen
144
Seventeen
153
Eighteen
160
Nineteen
178
Twenty
184
Twentyone
197
Twentytwo
213
Twentythree
228
Twentyfour
240
Twentyfive
249
Twentysix
267
Twentyseven
271
Twentyeight
282
Thirtyseven
388
Thirtyeight
397
Thirtynine
402
Forty
408
Fortyone
427
Fortytwo
433
Fortythree
451
Fortyfour
458
Fortyfive
468
Fortysix
476
Fortyseven
488
Fortyeight
497
Authors Note
499
Select Bibliography
507
Acknowledgments
509
Author Interview
510
About the Author
524
Back Cover
525
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2011)

Elizabeth Chadwick is the author of 17 historical novels, including The Greatest Knight, The Scarlet Lion, A Place Beyond Courage, For the King's Favor, Shadows and Strongholds, The Winter Mantle, and The Falcons of Montabard, four of which have been shortlisted for the Romantic Novelists' Awards. Visit www.elizabethchadwick.com

Bibliographic information