Cities in Flight

Front Cover
Overlook, Jan 4, 2005 - Fiction - 608 pages
67 Reviews
Long out of print, the science fiction masterpiece by Hugo Award-winning writer James Blish

Originally published in four volumes nearlyfifty years ago, Cities in Flight brings together the famed "Okie novels" of science fiction master James Blish. Named after the migrant workers of America's Dust Bowl, these novels convey Blish's "history of the future," a brilliant and bleak look at a world where cities roam the Galaxy looking for work and a sustainable way of life.

In the first novel, They Shall Have Stars, man has thoroughly explored the Solar System, yet the dream of going even further seems to have died in all but one man. His battle to realize his dream results in two momentous discoveries anti-gravity and the secret of immortality. In A Life for the Stars, it is centuries later and antigravity generations have enabled whole cities to lift off the surface of the earth to become galactic wanderers. In Earthman, Come Home, the nomadic cities revert to barbarism and marauding rogue cities begin to pose a threat to all civilized worlds. In the final novel, The Triumph of Time, historyrepeats itself as the cities once again journey back in to space making a terrifying discovery which could destroy the entire Universe. A serious andhaunting vision of our world and its limits, Cities in Flight marks the return to print of one of science fiction's most inimitable writers.

A Selection of the Science Fiction Book Club

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Review: Cities in Flight (Cities in Flight #1-4)

User Review  - Goodreads

I wanted to like this so much more than I actually enjoyed it. the central idea of flying cities is fantastic but at 600 pages of bare bones characterisation and meandering plotting, it's a real slog. Read full review

Review: Cities in Flight (Cities in Flight #1-4)

User Review  - Terry Quirke - Goodreads

Old school hard sci-fi, whilst the concepts and some of the musings on the effects of immortality and hard times are interesting, as a whole I'd have to allow that even allowing for when the books ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2005)

James Blish was one of the great science fiction writers of the twentieth century. His other novels include the Hugo Award-winning A Case of Conscience, Doctor Mirabilis, Black Easter andThe Day After Judgment. His later work includes the first twelve of the Star Trek novel series (all based on the original TV scripts) and Spock Must Die, the first original Star Trek novel.

Bibliographic information