The Walker Book of Ghost Stories

Front Cover
Susan Hill
Walker Books, 1990 - Children's stories, English - 222 pages
0 Reviews
Contains: Nule - Jan Mark; Young Kate - Eleanor Farjeon; Joanna's secret - Pauline Hill; Sam and the Sea - George Mackay Brown;; The Kindly ghost - Ruth Manning Sanders; The Yellow ball -; Philippa Pearce; The Damp Spectre - Dorothy Edwards;; Little Nym - Joan Aiken; Beware of the Ghost - Catherine; Sefton; Jimmy Takes Vanishing Lessons - Walter R. Brooks;; Uninvited Ghosts - Penelope Lively; Laughter in the Dark -; Leon Garfield; Through the Door - Ruth Ainsworth; The ; Battle with the Bogles - Sorche Nic Leodhas; Grandmother's; Footsteps - John Gordon; Bring me a Light - Ruth Manning-; Sanders; A Friend Forever - Susan Hill.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.


Young Kate
Sam and the
The Kindly Ghost

4 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1990)

Susan Hill was born in Scarborough, United Kingdom on February 5, 1942. She received a degree in English from King's College in London in 1963. Her first book, The Enclosure, was published during her first year at university. She worked as a freelance journalist between 1963 and 1968 and has been a monthly columnist for the Daily Telegraph since 1977. She founded her own publishing company, Long Barn Books, in 1996 and publishes a literary magazine called Books and Company. She has written works of fiction and non-fiction as well as children's books. She also edits short story compilations. Her works include Gentleman and Ladies, A Change for the Better, The Woman in Black, The Mist in the Mirror, and the Simon Serrailler Crime Novel series. She has won numerous awards including a Somerset Maugham Award for I'm the King of the Castle, the Whitbread Novel Award for The Bird of Night, the John Llewellyn Rhys Prize for The Albatross, and the Smarties Prize for Can It Be True?

Bibliographic information