The Golden Compass

Front Cover
Findaway World Llc, Nov 9, 2007 - Juvenile Fiction
Lyra Belacqua is content to run wild among the scholars of Jordan College, with her daemon familiar, Pantalaimon, always by her side. But the arrival of her fearsome uncle, Lord Asriel, draws her to the heart of a terrible struggle—a struggle born of Gobblers and stolen children, witch clans and armored bears. And as she hurtles toward danger in the cold far North, Lyra never suspects the shocking truth: she alone is destined to win, or to lose, this more than mortal battle. Beautifully crafted and thrillingly told, this first book in Philip Pullman's His Dark Materials trilogy has been hailed as a modern fantasy classic. Along with The Subtle Knife and The Amber Spyglass, The Golden Compass is a masterwork of storytelling and suspense, beloved by readers and listeners of all ages around the world.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - CarltonC -

A good fantasy adventure story, with richly imagined details especially of Oxford and the canal boats into the fens, but on its own a children's book (child hero rescuing children). It will be interesting to see how Pullman develops the ideas, mainly hinted at in this first volume. Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - expatscot -

I suffered my way through this trilogy as it was "The greatest thing" and concluded that it was only deemed such as the Literati never deign to read Sci-Fi and so thought he dreamt up all the stuff he just re-hashed. Read full review

All 12 reviews »

Other editions - View all

About the author (2007)

Philip Pullman was born in Norwich on October 19, 1946. He graduated from Oxford University with a degree in English. He taught at various Oxford middle schools and at Westminster College for eight years. He is the author of many acclaimed novels, plays, and picture books for readers of all ages. His first book, Count Karlstein, was published in 1982. His other books include: The Firework-Maker's Daughter; I Was a Rat!; Clockwork or All Wound Up; and The Good Man Jesus and the Scoundrel Christ. He is also the author of the Sally Lockhart series and the His Dark Materials Trilogy. He is the author of The Book of Dust, volume 1. He has received numerous awards including the Carnegie Medal and the Guardian Fiction Award for Northern Lights (The Golden Compass), the Whitbread Book of the Year Award for The Amber Spyglass, the Eleanor Farjeon Award for children's literature in 2002, and the Astrid Lindgren Award in 2005.

Bibliographic information