Death Before Wicket: Phryne Fisher's Murder Mysteries 10

Front Cover
Allen & Unwin, Jun 1, 2003 - Fiction - 240 pages
1 Review
The sassy Phryne Fisher sets the seamy side of Sydney alight in her tenth adventure.

Phryne Fisher has plans for her Sydney sojourn - a few days at the Test cricket, a little sightseeing and the Artist's Ball with an up-and-coming young modernist. But these plans begin to go awry when Phryne's maid discovers her thoroughly respectable sister has left her family for the murky nightlife of the Cross. And Phryne is definitely not the woman to say 'no' when two delightful young men come to her on bended knees, begging for her help in finding their friend innocent of theft. Phryne's plans for a simple day or two of pleasure are postponed for good.

It all sounds simple enough as Phryne sets investigations into motion, but when greed and fear are the motivating factors, people become ruthless and Phryne finds herself enmeshed in blackmail, secrets, lies and the dangerous influences of deep magic.

'Pure indulgence.a 1920s heroine for the 90s.a fast and elegant read.' WHO WEEKLY

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - JenneB - LibraryThing

Hm, this is the first book I've ever read that had a sex scene where the people were trapped in a well beneath a wine cellar. And it was actually kind of hot. Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Peggy72 - LibraryThing

I can't believe I'm going to say this but I just gave up on a PHRYNE FISHER!!!!! This is one of my favourite series but it also revolved around cricket which I find extremely boring. If I'm perfectly ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2003)

Kerry Greenwood has written twelve other novels in the Phryne Fisher series, the most recent being Murder in Montparnasse (2002). She is also the author of The Childstone Cycle, Cassandra and (with Jenny Pausacker) Recipes for Crime. The Things She Loves, a collection of essays about women who kill, edited by Kerry, was published by Allen + Unwin in 1996.

Bibliographic information