Mugby Junction

Front Cover
Aegypan, 2008 - Fiction - 124 pages

Mugby Junction, first published in the 1866 Christmas issue of Charles Dickens's weekly magazine All the Year Round, is one of the author's later fictional works, written only four years before his death in 1870. Dickens vowed to write a Christmas story every year after the resounding success of A Christmas Carol in 1843, and the three stories collected in this volume are holiday tales of kindness and redemption. Today, many people may not realize the debt they owe to Dickens -- his holiday stories almost single-handedly transformed Christmas from a disreputable holiday known for roughhousing and carousing, to the goodwill, charity and warmly-remembered traditions that the holiday represents today. As Dickens grew older, his fictional Christmases sometimes became far darker than the joyous holiday of A Christmas Carol. The original edition of the Christmas magazine All the Year Round also included ghost stories, and tales by other popular writers. Mugby (a thinly-veiled version of "Rugby") is a rail station situated in the British midlands. Well-known in the United Kingdom for its description of the unsavory railway refreshment room inspired by Dickens's 1865 train accident and a later, unpleasant repast, the rail station is a home base for the story of Jackson, a traveler who wanders into the station, alone and forlorn, at Christmastime. The kind and not-so-kind people he meets at the station tell tales of the holidays, of which the last, The Boy at Mugby, is the best.

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

About the author (2008)

Charles Dickens, perhaps the best British novelist of the Victorian era, was born in Portsmouth, Hampshire, England on February 7, 1812. His happy early childhood was interrupted when his father was sent to debtors' prison, and young Dickens had to go to work in a factory at age twelve. Later, he took jobs as an office boy and journalist before publishing essays and stories in the 1830s. His first novel, The Pickwick Papers, made him a famous and popular author at the age of twenty-five. Subsequent works were published serially in periodicals and cemented his reputation as a master of colorful characterization, and as a harsh critic of social evils and corrupt institutions. His many books include Oliver Twist, David Copperfield, Bleak House, Great Expectations, Little Dorrit, A Christmas Carol, and A Tale of Two Cities. Dickens married Catherine Hogarth in 1836, and the couple had nine children before separating in 1858 when he began a long affair with Ellen Ternan, a young actress. Despite the scandal, Dickens remained a public figure, appearing often to read his fiction. He died in 1870, leaving his final novel, The Mystery of Edwin Drood, unfinished.

Bibliographic information