The Potter's Field

Front Cover
Mysterious Press, 1991 - Fiction - 224 pages
12 Reviews
In October of 1142, a local landlord gives the Potter's Field to the local clergy. The monks begin to plow it, and the blades turn up the long tresses of a young woman, dead over a year. Then the arrival of a novice who fled from an abbey ravaged by civil war in East Anglia complicates life even further for Brother Cadfael.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Review: The Potter's Field (Chronicles of Brother Cadfael #17)

User Review  - Saran Prashanth - Goodreads

Though I have not completed the series, this book has the best plot, and the ending was truly unpredictable. Read full review

Review: The Potter's Field (Chronicles of Brother Cadfael #17)

User Review  - Jim - Goodreads

In THE POTTER'S FIELD Brother Cadfael uses his remarkable investigative skills to discover the facts of a “cold case”. The skeletal remains of a woman are found at the edge of one of the abbey's ... Read full review

About the author (1991)

Ellis Peters is the pseudonym for Edith Pargeter, who was born in Horsehay, Shropshire. She was a chemist's assistant from 1933 to 1940 and participated during World War II in the Women's Royal Navy Service. The name "Ellis Peters" was adopted by Edith Pargeter to clearly mark a division between her mystery stories and her other work. Her brother was Ellis and Petra was a friend from Czechoslovakia, thus the name. She came to writing mysteries, she says, "after half a lifetime of novel-writing." Her detective fiction features well-rounded, knowledgeable characters with whom the reader can empathize. Her most famous literary creation is the medieval monk Brother Cadfael. The blend of history and the formula of the detective story gives Peters's works their popular appeal. As detective hero, Brother Cadfael remains faithful to the requirements of the formula, yet the historical milieu in which he operates is both fully realized and well textured. Peters received the Mystery Writers of America's Edgar Award in 1963 and the Crime Writers Association's Silver Dagger Award in 1981.

Bibliographic information