New Selected Poems

Front Cover
Carcanet, Jan 1, 2000 - Poetry - 179 pages
0 Reviews
Edwin Morgan's classic Selected Poems was published in 1985. The millennium New Selected brings readers up to date.
It contains most of the 1985 volume, to which Morgan adds later poems. The complete sequence of Sonnets from Scotland appears in book form for the first time, gaining in relevance now that Scotland's Parliament is established. Hitherto uncollected too is Planet Wave, a suite of ten poems covering the history of the earth from the Big Bang to the time of Copernicus. It was set to music by jazz saxophonist and composer Tommy Smith.
Morgan is unique in the courage of his experiments, his openness to the poetries of other languages and to science and science fiction. However spectacular his leaps in time and space, he always comes back to ground in Scotland, in Glasgow, in a present tense which he inhabits with exuberance and hope, and without cultural regrets.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.


from Dies Irae 1952
from 77k Second Life 1968
from Penguin Modern Poets 15 1969

8 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

References to this book

All Book Search results »

About the author (2000)

Edwin Morgan became lecturer in English at the University of Glasgow and retired as titular Professor in 1980.

Bibliographic information