The Roots of the Moment

Front Cover
Drogue Press, 1998 - Music - 141 pages
0 Reviews
Contemporary music. "As I follow the threads from the past/future into the present moment I breathe my time" -- Pauline Oliveros. "The Roots of the Moment" presents the collected writings over the past decade from one of our greatest contemporary musician-composers. Essays, poems, scores, dreams, and HorSpiele (German for, literally, "ear-plays") are presented as simultaneously unfolding texts (graphic design by Blair Seagram). A pioneer of electronic and interactive electro-acoustic music, of meditative or contemplative music (renowned for her work with The Deep Listening Band), and a virtuoso accordionist and performer, Oliveros stands with John Cage, Terry Riley, Conlon Nancarrow, Morton Feldman, LaMonte Young and few others as among the most radical post-war experimentalists of American music. The compact disc enclosed includes four HorSpiele (1987-1993) commissioned for radio performance in Germany and the US.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.


The Roots of the Moment 198695
Notational Range 1988
Sonic Tonic 1989

7 other sections not shown

Common terms and phrases

Bibliographic information