Hunting Season

Front Cover
Penguin, Feb 4, 2003 - Fiction - 352 pages
10 Reviews
Park Ranger Anna Pigeon returns to face her most duplicitous foe—human nature—in Nevada Barr's New York Times bestseller, Hunting Season.


The quiet beauty of autumn on Mississippi’s Natchez Trace is swiftly shattered when Anna answers a call to Mt. Locust, once a working plantation and inn, now a tourist spot. But the man Anna finds in an old bedroom is no tourist in distress. He’s nearly naked, and very dead—his body bearing marks consistent with sex games gone awry. On a writing table nearby is an open Bible with ominous passages circled in red.


There are secrets that prominent men in this God-fearing country wish to keep under wraps—and Anna has stumbled into a nest of them.



What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - whybehave2002 - LibraryThing

As always, Nevada Barr keeps me reading and guessing. My only let down is that she can't seem to remember what kind of dog Anna owns. See if you can tell. Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - wareagle78 - LibraryThing

Once again I enjoyed Nevada Barr's tales of Anna Pigeon, park service ranger. This time Ranger Pigeon is assigned on the Natchez Trace, and is faced with a murder and the good ole boy system as well ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

Bibliographic information