The House on Sprucewood Lane

Front Cover
Simon and Schuster, Mar 26, 2002 - Fiction - 368 pages
From the outside, some families appear to be untouchable. No conflicts within could cause ugliness or bitterness; no external force could shatter their assured, confident aura. The world saw the McQuade family through such a prism -- a slice of suburban perfection, a page-from-a-magazine existence for Melanie and Tom McQuade and their two gifted children. But Melanie's sister, documentary filmmaker Lex Cavanaugh, knows that nothing is as it appears; the truth of any picture lies in the eye of the beholder. And soon an unthinkable crime will shake Lex to the core, challenging everything she has known about her estranged family -- and herself. Lex receives the wrenching news in an urgent e-mail from her nephew, Jared: his ten-year-old sister Calista, a talented gymnast with Olympic potential, has been found murdered. Rushing from her home in London to Melanie's house in exclusive Westport, Connecticut, Lex re-enters a family living out its worst nightmare -- with each of the members cast in the light of suspicion, even among themselves. As the homicide investigation unfolds, a startling, unexpected group portrait reveals itself: Lex's obsessive, controlling sister, her TV-personality brother-in-law, and the intensely unhappy young Jared, in whom Lex sees her childhood self. Sifting through a decade of hidden indiscretions, raw resentments, and buried truths, Lex knows she must unlock the secrets of the past if there is any hope at all for their future. With a fresh voice and an unsparing eye, Caroline Slate has crafted a literary gem that is at the same time a tense, disarming psychological thriller in the tradition of Jacquelyn Mitchard and Ruth Rendell -- a page-turner that exposes the chilling, entangled secrets which may tear one family apart.
 

What people are saying - Write a review

THE HOUSE ON SPRUCEWOOD LANE

User Review  - Kirkus

Who strangled ten-year-old Calista McQuade? It's hard to care.Everyone had a motive. Jared, her older brother, is a scrawny unrecognized genius who obviously resented his pretty, attention-getting ... Read full review

The house on Sprucewood Lane

User Review  - Not Available - Book Verdict

Estranged from her family, documentary filmmaker Lex Cavanaugh is pleased to get an e-mail from nephew JaredDuntil she reads it and discovers that his ten-year-old sister has been murdered. With everyone in the family under suspicion, Lex must rush in and protect Jared. Read full review

Contents

PROLOGUE
1
CHAPTER 1
11
CHAPTER 2
19
CHAPTER 3
27
CHAPTER 4
37
CHAPTER 5
47
CHAPTER 6
57
CHAPTER 7
67
CHAPTER 23
205
CHAPTER 24
211
CHAPTER 25
224
CHAPTER 26
228
CHAPTER 27
234
CHAPTER 28
240
CHAPTER 29
244
CHAPTER 30
250

CHAPTER 8
77
CHAPTER 9
88
CHAPTER 10
102
CHAPTER 11
114
CHAPTER 12
120
CHAPTER 13
127
CHAPTER 14
139
CHAPTER 15
148
CHAPTER 16
152
CHAPTER 17
155
CHAPTER 18
169
CHAPTER 19
181
CHAPTER 20
185
CHAPTER 21
191
CHAPTER 22
198
CHAPTER 31
258
CHAPTER 32
264
CHAPTER 33
270
CHAPTER 34
277
CHAPTER 35
286
CHAPTER 36
292
CHAPTER 37
302
CHAPTER 38
310
CHAPTER 39
322
CHAPTER 40
326
CHAPTER 41
333
CHAPTER 42
338
EPILOGUE
353
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2002)

Caroline Slate has worked as an actress, television spokesperson, realestate broker, and executive search consultant. She lives in New York City with her husband and two children.

Bibliographic information