The Six Wives of Henry VIII

Front Cover
Ballantine Books, 1993 - Biography & Autobiography - 642 pages
38 Reviews
The tempestuous, bloody, and splendid reign of Henry VIII of England (1509-1547) is one of the most fascinating in all history, not least for his marriage to six extraordinary women. In this accessible work of brilliant scholarship, Alison Weir draws on early biographies, letters, memoirs, account books, and diplomatic reports to bring these women to life. Catherine of Aragon emerges as a staunch though misguided woman of principle; Anne Boleyn, an ambitious adventuress with a penchant for vengeance; Jane Seymour, a strong-minded matriarch in the making; Anne of Cleves, a good-natured and innocent woman naively unaware of the court intrigues that determined her fate; Catherine Howard, an empty-headed wanton; and Catherine Parr, a warm-blooded bluestocking who survived King Henry to marry a fourth time.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - caslater83 - LibraryThing

If I could create a genre for this book, it would be "intense history" or "serious history." This was a politically intense and emotionally nerve-wracking time to live in for any woman. The lifespan ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - hazel1123 - LibraryThing

Very good book. Well researched and interesting review of facts of Henry VIII rule but also a insightful view of the turmoil and violence that was part of the Protestant revolution in England. Read full review


Katherine of Aragon
The princess from Spain

19 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

Act of Attainder Act of Succession Admiral adultery although ambassador Anne Askew Anne Bassett Anne Boleyn Anne of Cleves Anne's Archbishop Archbishop Cranmer Archbishop of Canterbury Baynard's Castle birth Bishop Bishop of London Bridewell Palace Buckden Calais Calendar records canopy of estate Cardinal Cardinal Wolsey Castle Chapuys Chelsea child court Cranmer Cromwell Culpeper daughter death Dereham dowry Duchess Duchess of Norfolk Duchess of Somerset Duchess of Suffolk Duke Duke of Cleves Duke of Norfolk Edward Elizabeth Elizabeth Barton Elizabeth Blount Elizabeth of York Eltham Palace Emperor England English father favour Ferdinand France Francis Dereham French French hood gable hood George Constantine George Wyatt Greenwich Hall Hampton Court heir Henry VIII Henry's herself Hever Castle himself honour household husband Isabella Isabella of Castile Jane Dormer Jane Seymour Jane's John Spelman jousts Katherine Howard Katherine of Aragon Katherine Parr Katherine's King King of England King's knew Lady Jane Grey Lady Margaret Beaufort Lady Mary Lady Rochford Lambeth later letter London Lord Lord Chancellor Lord Mountjoy Lord Protector maid of honour Margaret Douglas Maria de Salinas Marillac marriage married Mary Boleyn Mary Tudor Matthew Parker might mistress mother National Portrait Gallery never Norfolk Nun of Kent Palace Pilgrimage of Grace Pope portrait Prince Princess Princess of Wales privy chamber Privy Council Puebla Queen Anne Queen Katherine Queen of England realised Reginald Pole Rome royal saying sent Sir Henry Norris Sir Thomas Sir William Kingston sister Spain Spanish Spanish Calendar St Paul's Cathedral Stephen Gardiner Sudeley Castle Suffolk sweating sickness Syon Abbey Thomas Abell Thomas Boleyn Thomas Cranmer Thomas Cromwell Thomas Seymour told Tower Tower of London Tudor Venetian VIII's Westminster Abbey Whitehall Palace wife William Warham Wiltshire Windsor Wolsey woman Wriothesley wrote Wyatt young

About the author (1993)

Alison Weir was born in London, England on July 8, 1951. She received training to be a teacher with a concentration in history from the North Western Polytechnic. Before becoming a full-time writer, she worked as a civil servant and ran her own school for children with learning difficulties from 1991 to 1997. Her first book, Britain's Royal Families, was published in 1989. Her other books include The Six Wives of Henry VIII; Children of England; Eleanor of Aquitaine; Henry VIII: King and Court; Mary, Queen of Scots; and Isabella. Her first novel, Innocent Traitor, was published in 2006. Her other novels include The Lady Elizabeth, The Lady in the Tower: The Fall of Anne Boleyn, The Captive Queen, A Dangerous Inheritance, and Katherine of Aragon, the True Queen.

Bibliographic information