Turning the Tide: One Man Against the Medellin Cartel

Front Cover
Dutton, 1991 - Americans - 249 pages
1 Review
The riveting true story of the college professor who brought a ruthless cocaine kingpin to justice, told by the bestselling author of A Cast of Killers. Professor Richard Novak was in the Bahamas studying hammerhead sharks when the Medellin Cartel moved in and set up the nerve center of the world's largest drug operation. When officials refused to act, Novak used his underwater expertise to gather evidence, eventually leading to the cartel's downfall. 16 pages of photographs.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

TURNING THE TIDE: One Man Against the Medellin Cartel

User Review  - Jane Doe - Kirkus

From journalist Kirkpatrick (A Cast of Killers, 1986) and novelist Abrahams (Pressure Drop, 1989, etc.) comes a crisply narrated story of how an American college professor took on one of the world's ... Read full review

Turning the tide: one man against the Medellin Cartel

User Review  - Not Available - Book Verdict

This is a fast-paced, novelistic account of a series of confrontations between marine research scientist Richard Novak and Medellin drug runner Carlos Lehder on the Bahamian island of Norman's Cay ... Read full review


Section 1
Section 2
Section 3

32 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1991)

Sidney Kirkpatrick is an award-winning filmmaker and international best-selling author. His critically acclaimed non-fiction books include A CAST OF KILLERS, TURNING THE TIDE, LORDS OF SIPAN, EDGAR CAYCE: AN AMERICAN PROPHET, and THE REVENGE OF THOMAS EAKINS. His documentary film, MY FATHER THE PRESIDENT, about Theodore Roosevelt as seen through the eyes of his daughter, Ethel Roosevelt Derby, was a winner at the American Film Festival. HBO, the History Channel, the Discovery Channel, and the A & E Television Networks have all featured his work. Biographical profiles of Kirkpatrick have appeared in "The New York Times", "Time" magazine, "The New Yorker", and "Playboy". He is a graduate of Hampshire College and New York University's Tisch School of the Arts. He lives in Stony Brook, New York.

Peter Abrahams was born in Boston, Massachusetts on June 28, 1947. His works include Lights Out (1994), The Fan (1995), Crying Wolf (2000) and Oblivion (2005). He also writes the Echo Falls Mysteries Series for younger readers. He was the winner of the 2010 Edgar Award, Best Young Adult Mystery for Reality Check. In addition, he authors the Chet and Bernie Mystery Series under the pseudonym Spencer Quinn.

Bibliographic information