Life with Beau: A Tale of a Dog and His Family

Front Cover
Random House, Jun 30, 2011 - Biography & Autobiography - 96 pages
7 Reviews

What started as an ode to Quindlen's aging black Labrador in her Newsweek column has become a life-affirming short book about happiness, in the tradition of A SHORT GUIDE TO A HAPPY LIFE and BEING PERFECT.

In this wise little book, Anna Quindlen writes: "The life of a good dog is like the life of a good person, only shorter, more compressed." Quindlen continues, with her trademark wonderful writing, sound wisdom and humor, to explain how her life has unfolded in tandem with Beau, and how she's learned how to enjoy life, in the simplest of ways, by watching him.

She writes, "When I was a mixed-breed puppy, I could never have imagined how simple and basic contentment could be. And that's what I've learned from watching Beau: to roll with the punches, to take things as they come, to measure myself not in terms of the past or the future but of the present, to raise my nose in the air from time to time and, at least metaphorically, holler, "I smell bacon!"

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
2
4 stars
2
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0

Good Dog Stay

User Review  - FuntertainingBooks - Borders

The book Good Dog Stay.By Anna Quindlen tells the story of Anna's Labrador Retriever,Beau. She tells how a dog can teach a person about there self.In a good way she tell's how short a dog life is and ... Read full review

Food for Thought

User Review  - rakeroo2 - Overstock.com

Some readers might find this book a bit disappointing because it is a short read and the dog photographs do not directly relate to the text.However it is a touching and thoughtprovoking exploration of ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2011)

Anna Quindlen is the author of five novels, six nonfiction books and two children's books (THE TREE THAT CAME TO STAY, HAPPILY EVER AFTER). Her New York Times column "Public and Private" won the Pulitzer Prize in 1992. Her column now appears every other week in Newsweek. Anna Quindlen lives in New York.

Bibliographic information