Nine Men Who Laughed

Front Cover
Penguin Books, 1986 - Fiction - 225 pages
0 Reviews
A collection of short stories portrays the experiences of members of the West Indian community in Toronto

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

References to this book

All Book Search results »

About the author (1986)

Austin Clarke was born in Barbados, and came to Canada to attend university in 1955. He has had a varied and distinguished career as a broadcaster, civil-rights leader, diplomat, and professor. He has published ten novels, including the Toronto Trilogy ("The Meeting Point,"" Storm of Fortune," and" The Bigger Light"), "The Origin of Waves," winner of The Rogers Communications Writers' Trust Fiction Prize, "The Question," a finalist for the Governor General's Award, and, most recently, "The Polished Hoe," winner of The Giller Prize and the Commonwealth Writers Prize for Best Book. He is also the author of six short-story collections, including "When He Was Free and Young and He Used to Wear Silks," "When Women Rule," "There Are No Elders," and" Choosing His Coffin: The Best Stories of Austin Clarke"; and three memoirs, "Growing Up Stupid Under the Union Jack," winner of the 1980 Casa de las Americas Literary Prize of Cuba, "A Passage Back Home," and "Pig Tails 'n Breadfruit: Rituals of Slave Food," "Austin Clarke: A Biography" by Stella Algoo-Baksh was published in 1994 and "The Austin Clarke Reader," selected writings, in 1996. He is the recipient of numerous honours, including the 1999 W.O. Mitchell Literary Prize, the Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Achievement Award, and the Order of Canada.
Austin Clarke lives in Toronto.

Bibliographic information