Malice Domestic: An Anthology of Original Traditional Mystery Stories

Front Cover
Nancy Pickard
Pocket Books, 1994 - Fiction - 240 pages
1 Review
Following the success of Malice Domestic 1--recipient of the Agatha Award for Best Short Story and called "outstanding" by Publishers Weekly--acclaimed author Nancy Pickard serves a feast of original traditional mystery stories in classic Agatha Christie style. Featured writers include Wendy Hornsby, Dorothy Cannell, Joan Hess, and Nancy Pickard herself.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

Review: Nancy Pickard Presents Malice Domestic (Malice Domestic #3)

User Review  - Laura de Leon - Goodreads

I downloaded this from Overdrive on a whim. I find short story collections to be hit or miss even at their best. As I listened to the first pieces, I thought perhaps this one had been a mistake. Short ... Read full review


Cast Your Fate to the Wind
Fannies Back Fence Caper
His Tears

7 other sections not shown

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1994)

Nancy Pickard is best known for her Jenny Cain mysteries. Her first novel was "Generous Death", and she began writing the culinary adventures of Mrs. Potter when the creator of the character, Virginia Rich, passed away in the mid 1980's. Rich's husband found a box of notes and newspaper clippings that were related to books that Virginia had hoped to write and they included a few first drafts of chapters. Pickard's relationship began with Rich when, as a fan, she wrote a letter to her after finishing "The Cooking School Murders." They were both mystery writers married to cattle ranchers. After her death, Rich's husband wanted to find another writer to continue Virginia's work, which eventually led to Pickard. The unfinished manuscript for "The 27-Ingredient Chili Con Carne Murders" was continued by Pickard and published in 1993. Before her death, Rich wrote "The Cooking School Murders" (1982), The Baked Bean Supper Murders" (1983), and The Nantucket Diet Murders" (1985). The other Eugenia Potter novels written by Pickard were "The Blue Corn Murders," which turned the character Mrs. Potter into a more vigorous older woman, followed by "The Secret Ingredient Murders." Pickard is the past president of Sisters in Crime and received the Anthony, Macavity and Agatha awards for five of the ten novels in her popular Jenny Cain series. She was also a two-time Edgar Award nominee and a winner of the American Mystery Award.

Bibliographic information