Berlin game

Front Cover
Knopf, 1984 - Fiction - 345 pages
5 Reviews
Agent Bernard Sampson clashes with an unknown traitor, a high-ranking fellow operative of the British Secret Service, in a tale of intrigue, murder, and suspense that moves from London to East and West Berlin

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Review: Berlin Game (Bernard Samson #1)

User Review  - Goodreads

Given the current world situation it seemed like an ideal time to look into some of the classic cold war fiction. I'm glad I did. This is beautifully done and is less, well, "cold" than I was ... Read full review

Review: Berlin Game (Bernard Samson #1)

User Review  - Goodreads

I really enjoyed this entertaining spy novel by Deighton as it is full of extensive dialogue told through the first person narrative of the main character, Bernard Samson. It's this mastery of the dialogue that brings the characters to life in an impressive way. A marvellous and engaging story. Read full review


Section 1
Section 2
Section 3

25 other sections not shown

Common terms and phrases

References to this book

About the author (1984)

Len (Leonard Cyril) Deighton, the master of the modern spy thriller, was born in London in 1929. He attended the Royal College of Art and served in the Royal Air Force. He married Shirley Thompson in 1960. Deighton has varied work experience. Among other things, he has been an art student, railroad worker, pastry cook, waiter, photographer, and a teacher. Deighton's first of more than a dozen bestsellers, The Ipcress File, appeared in 1962. His spy thrillers are characterized by his careful attention to detail of place, sequence of events, and description of people, providing the reader with the strong sense of actually being there as the story unfolds. His works include two trilogies: the "Game, Set and Match" group--Berlin Game (1984), Mexico Set (1985), and London Match (1986) and the "Hook, Line, and Sinker" group - Spy Hook (1988), Spy Line (1989), and Spy Sinker (1990). Len Deighton also writes television plays and cookbooks.