Lost Horse Press New Poets Series, Volume 4

Front Cover
Lost Horse Press, 2011 - Poetry - 68 pages
0 Reviews
This fourth volume of the Lost Horse Press New Poets / Short Books series offers three strong voices, each with a personal brand of courage. Their lives are as different from one another as can be, and their sensibilities are very much their own, yet in practicing the art of poetry they share something too mysterious and vital ever to be replaced by a new technology. That is because poetry is a primary and, one might argue, primal manifestation of the life force itself. All of our brilliant inventions notwithstanding, what life feels like remains inside us. Here are three poets, each of whose personal language is part of that richness we cannot do without. --Marvin Bell

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

About the author (2011)

Marvin Bell was born in New York City and grew up in Center Moriches, on the south shore of eastern Long Island. Bell's debut collection of poems, Things We Dreamt We Died For, was published in 1966 by the Stone Wall Press, following two years of service in the U.S. Army. His following two collections were A Probable Volume of Dreams (Atheneum, 1969), a Lamont Poetry Selection of the Academy of American Poets; and Stars Which See, Stars Which Do Not See (1977), which was a finalist for the National Book Award. Since then, Bell has published numerous books of prose and poetry, most recently 7 Poets, 4 Days, 1 Book (Trinity University Press, 2009), a collaboration with six other poets, and Mars Being Red (Copper Canyon Press, 2007), which was a finalist for the Los Angeles Times Book Award. Bell's other collections include Rampant (2004); Nightworks: Poems, 1962-2000 (2000); Ardor: The Book of the Dead Man, Volume 2 (1997); The Book of the Dead Man (Copper Canyon Press, 1994); New and Selected Poems (Atheneum, 1987).

Bibliographic information