The Last Dog on Earth

Front Cover
Random House Children's Books, Jan 21, 2009 - Juvenile Fiction - 240 pages
8 Reviews
WHAT IF MAN’S BEST FRIEND TURNED INTO MAN’S WORST ENEMY?
 
It’s Stephen King meets Shiloh in this thrilling action-adventure survival story perfect for fans of Gary Paulsen’s Hatchet#1 New York Times bestselling author D.J. MacHales the Sylo Chronicles, and anyone who appreciates the loyal bond between a boy and his dog.
 
Logan Moore hates everyone. Everyone except Jack. A mangy mutt that nobody wants. Except Logan.
 
But Jack is in terrible danger. A mysterious disease is sweeping across the country, turning dogs into vicious, raging predators. Jack isn’t infected, but that won’t keep her safe. People are shooting dogs on sight, and asking questions later. Logan’s own parents want to hand Jack over to the authorities.
 
Now Logan and Jack are on the run. There’s nowhere they can turn and no one they can trust. Except each other.


From the Hardcover edition.
 

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - JRlibrary - LibraryThing

Read this YEARS ago, but loved it. Can't remember all the details, but a boy who has a dog that I believe came from a wild litter manages to save him when all the city dogs are being destroyed. Turns ... Read full review

Review: The Last Dog on Earth

User Review  - Gwen Lawrynk - Goodreads

this book is amazing and has a sad ending I hope all of you enjoy this book like I did Read full review

Selected pages

Contents

OTHER YEARLING BOOKS YOU WILL ENJOY
5
PROLOGUETHE SHEPUP
Incident ReportRedmont County Sheriffs OfficeJune 15
PART IJUNE 2021
CHAPTERONE
Statement given by Rudy Stagg toSheriff Van Wyck of the RedmontCounty Oregon Sheriffs Office on June 20
CHAPTERTWO
Email exchange between Sheriff Van Wyck andDr Harold Marks chief of the Portland UniversityResearch Center for Infectious Diseases
CHAPTERELEVEN
CHAPTERTWELVE
CHAPTERTHIRTEEN
CDC press release published in all majornewspapers on the West Coast July 22
CHAPTERFOURTEEN
PART IVJULY 24JULY 27
CHAPTERFIFTEEN
Emails sent from Rudy Stagg toDr Harold Marks July 2427

CHAPTERTHREE
Letter faxed to Rudy Stagg the night of June 21
PART IIJUNE 22JULY 3
CHAPTERFOUR
Rudy Staggs faxed response toSheila Daviss inquiry
CHAPTERFIVE
Article published on page 2 ofThe Redmont Daily Standard
CHAPTERSIX
CHAPTERSEVEN
Rudy Staggs fullpage advertisement inThe Redmont Daily Standard June 26
CHAPTEREIGHT
Letter to the editor published inThe Redmont Daily Standard June 28
CHAPTERNINE
Lead story inThe Redmont Daily Standard June 30
CHAPTERTEN
PART IIIJULY 6JULY 23
CHAPTERSIXTEEN
Emails sent from Dr Harold Marks toDr Craig Westerly the afternoon of July 27
CHAPTERSEVENTEEN
CHAPTEREIGHTEEN
POS DEATH TOLL RISES TO 56CDC URGES ALL DOG OWNERS TO REPORT TOAREA HOSPITALS
PART VJULY 28
CHAPTERNINETEEN
CHAPTERTWENTY
Notice posted throughout the statesof Oregon and Washington
CHAPTERTWENTYONE
CHAPTERTWENTYTWO
PART VIAUGUST 1821
CHAPTERTWENTYTHREE
CHAPTERTWENTYFOUR
EPILOGUEOCTOBER 5
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2009)

Daniel Ehrenhaft is an award-winning author of books for young adults. When he isn't writing, he serves as the Editorial Director of Soho Teen, at Soho Press. He lives in Brooklyn with his wife, Jessica; their son, Nate; and their scruffy dog, Gibby. Find out more at www.danielehrenhaft.com and follow Daniel on Twitter @danielehrenhaft.


From the Hardcover edition.

Bibliographic information