The Regeneration Trilogy

Front Cover
Penguin Books, 2014 - Fiction - 902 pages
0 Reviews
Pat Barker's award-winning Regeneration Trilogy - comprising Regeneration, The Eye in the Doorand The Ghost Road- is the heart-rending story of the last two years of the First World War seen through the eyes of army psychologist William Rivers and damaged soldier Billy Prior. As Rivers struggles with the responsibility of helping the men in his charge - including the traumatized poets Siegfried Sassoon and Wilfred Owen - only to see them returned to the front, we see how an entire generation of young men was brutalized by the horrors of the trenches. 'What Barker does in The Regeneration Trilogy is explore with gritty realism - and absolute clarity of vision - the whole dirty, glorious and horrifying business of war.' Sunday Telegraph'A new vision of what the First World War did to human beings, male and female, soldiers and civilians.' A. S. Byatt, Daily Telegraph 'I'm convinced the trilogy will win recognition as one of the few real masterpieces of late twentieth-century British fiction.' Jonathan Coe 'One of the richest and most rewarding works of fiction of recent times.' The Times Literary Supplement

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Other editions - View all

About the author (2014)

Pat Barker was born in Yorkshire and began her literary career in her forties, when she took a short writing course taught by Angela Carter. Encouraged by Carter to continue writing and exploring the lives of working class women, she sent her fiction out to publishers. Thirty-five years later, she has published fifteen novels, including her masterful Regeneration Trilogy, been made a CBE for services to literature, and won awards including the Guardian Fiction Prize and the UK's highest literary honour, the Booker Prize. She lives in Durham and her new novel, The Silence of the Girls, will be published by Hamish Hamilton in August 2018.

Bibliographic information