Mr. Lincoln's Army

Front Cover
Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group, 1962 - Biography & Autobiography - 363 pages
1 Review
Author of more than a dozen books on Civil War history, Catton is renowned for his vivid and lyrical narratives. The Army of the Potomac Trilogy, Catton's most widely ready work, is recounts the bitter struggle between the Army of the Potomac and the Army of Virginia, and this first volume chronicles the early years under the command of General McClellan.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User Review - Flag as inappropriate

Excellent book by one of the most pre-eminent Civil War authors of the 20th Century. The narrative surrounding the Battle of Antietam is especially gripping. Found it very interesting to read of the Army of the Potomac's love of General McClellan as their "Little Mac" while hated by the politicians. Catton does a wonderful job giving an objective portrayal of the general, so that the reader can understand why his men respected him, and yet why he failed as a general in the Civil War.  


The Era of Suspicion

1 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1962)

Bruce Catton, whose complete name was Charles Bruce Catton, was born in Petoskey, Michigan, in 1899. A United States journalist and writer, Catton was one of America's most popular Civil War historians. Catton worked as a newspaperman in Boston, Cleveland, and Washington, and also held a position at the U.S. Department of Commerce in 1948. Catton's best-selling book, A Stillness at Appomattox, a recount of the most spectacular conflicts between Generals Grant and Lee in the final year of the Civil War, earned him a Pulitzer Prize and National Book Award in 1954. Before his death in 1978, Catton wrote a total of ten books detailing the Civil War, including his last, Grant Takes Command.

Bibliographic information