The Scientifiction Novels of C.S. Lewis: Space and Time in the Ransom Stories

Front Cover
McFarland, Jun 10, 2004 - Literary Criticism - 204 pages
0 Reviews
Used by C.S. Lewis himself, the term “scientifiction” is revived here as it once encompassed not only what we call science fiction, but also that indeterminate field of the 1940s and 1950s sometimes referred to as science fantasy (leading up to Ray Bradbury), along with a portion of that great realm that has come, since the advent of The Lord of the Rings, to be called fantasy. Rather as an eighteenth-century novel may pre-date the divide between novel and romance, so C.S. Lewis’s “interplanetary” novels may be considered to pre-date the modern divide between fantasy and science fiction and thus be thought of as “scientifictional” in nature. The stories dealt with are those in which Elwin Ransom is a character, the three usually called the “space trilogy”: Out of the Silent Planet, Perelandra, and That Hideous Strength—and the time-fragment entitled The Dark Tower. Lengthy chapters are devoted to each of the four Ransom stories. The book presents a study of Lewis, the nature of science fiction, the nature of Lewis’s “Arcadian” science fiction and his (and its) place in English literary history.

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.


The Ransom Stories in Their English Literary Context
Malacandra or Space Travel Out of the Silent Planet
The Dark Tower or An Exchange in Time
Perelandra or Paradise Retained
Thulcandra or Our Time Under That Hideous Strength
Lewiss Arcadian Science Fiction
C S Lewis and the Myth in Mythopoeia

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

References to this book

About the author (2004)

Writer and researcher Jared Lobdell lectures at Millersville University of Pennsylvania and Harrisburg Area Community College. He lives in Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania.

Bibliographic information