Alice's Adventures in Wonderland, and Through the Looking Glass

Front Cover
Barnes & Noble Classics, 2003 - Fiction - 320 pages
202 Reviews
Alice's Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass, by Lewis Carroll, is part of the Barnes & Noble Classics series, which offers quality editions at affordable prices to the student and the general reader, including new scholarship, thoughtful design, and pages of carefully crafted extras. Here are some of the remarkable features of Barnes & Noble Classics:
  • New introductions commissioned from today's top writers and scholars
  • Biographies of the authors
  • Chronologies of contemporary historical, biographical, and cultural events
  • Footnotes and endnotes
  • Selective discussions of imitations, parodies, poems, books, plays, paintings, operas, statuary, and films inspired by the work
  • Comments by other famous authors
  • Study questions to challenge the reader's viewpoints and expectations
  • Bibliographies for further reading
  • Indices & Glossaries, when appropriate
All editions are beautifully designed and are printed to superior specifications; some include illustrations of historical interest. Barnes & Noble Classics pulls together a constellation of influences--biographical, historical, and literary--to enrich each reader's understanding of these enduring works.


First published in 1865, Lewis Carroll’s Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland was an immediate success, as was its sequel, Through the Looking-Glass. Carroll’s sense of the absurd and his amazing gift for games of logic and language have secured for the Alice books an enduring spot in the hearts of both adults and children.


Alice begins her adventures when she follows the frantically delayed White Rabbit down a hole into the magical world of Wonderland, where she meets a variety of wonderful creatures, including Tweedledee and Tweedledum, the Cheshire Cat, the hookah-smoking Caterpillar, the Mad Hatter, and the Queen of Hearts--who, with the help of her enchanted deck of playing cards, tricks Alice into playing a bizarre game of croquet.  Alice continues her adventures in Through the Looking-Glass, which is loosely based on a game of chess and includes Carroll’s famous poem "Jabberwocky.”


Throughout her fantastic journeys, Alice retains her reason, humor, and sense of justice. She has become one of the great characters of imaginative literature, as immortal as Don Quixote, Huckleberry Finn, Captain Ahab, Sherlock Holmes, and Dorothy Gale of Kansas.   Tan Lin is a writer, artist, and critic. He is the author of two books of poetry, Lotion Bullwhip Giraffe and IDM.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

I love the writing of Lewis Carroll. - LibraryThing
It's full of fun poems and lovely illustrations. - LibraryThing
Really very clever writing. - LibraryThing
I love the illustrations by Sir John Tenniel. - LibraryThing
It would also be good as a writing prompt. - LibraryThing
The illustrations in this book are very unique. - LibraryThing

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - jms001 - LibraryThing

Remember the white rabbit that Neo had to follow in order to get out of the Matrix? Or the Looking Glass station that Desmond and Charlie had to go to in order to help the rest of the 815 survivors ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - pduste1 - LibraryThing

Alice's Adventures in Wonderland is a classic chapter book that can still be enjoyed as an adult. I like this book for its illustrations and text structure. The illustrations in this book are very ... Read full review

All 25 reviews »

References to this book

All Book Search results »

About the author (2003)

Tan Lin is a writer, artist, and critic. He is the author of two books of poetry, Lotion Bullwhip Giraffe and IDM.

Bibliographic information