Red sabbath: the Battle of Little Big Horn

Front Cover
Ian Allan, 2005 - History - 223 pages
0 Reviews
First published in 2003 and subsequently reprinted, Colonel Michael Cobb's two volume atlas of the railways of Great Britain proved to be one of the most remarkable successes in the history of railway publishing. However, it was always recognised that the high price represented a barrier to those who were only interested in part of the country. With an aim to address this, a new series is being launched of which this is the fourth volume.Outlining the fascinating and very diverse railway network of Cheshire and Shropshire, the book explores the many lines found on the border between England and Wales. Although both counties are predominantly rural, the Severn Valley through Ironbridge was one of the centres of the Industrial Revolution and a considerable network of lines developed in the county to serve the coal and iron industries. For Cheshire, the route to Ireland via Holyhead was to prove an early impetus to railway development and subsequently its proximity to both Liverpool and Manchester saw the development of a considerable range of passenger services operating to these major centres. Although predominantly controlled by the constituents of the LMS and Great Western, the LNER was also a force in the area. There were also a number of minor narrow gauge lines such as the Shropshire & Montgomery and the Snailbeach adding to the variety of railway interest in the district.A detailed historical sketch outlining the development of this railway network and a beautiful selection of photographs make this book a must have reference guide on Cheshire and Shropshire. It also contains a detailed index and a gazetteer of stations with opening times and, where appropriate, closure dates. It will be an essential reference source for all living in the regions covered and all serious railway historians.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.


List of Maps and Diagrams
Red Clouds
The Fetterman Massacre 21 December 1866

25 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2005)

Robert Kershaw is a well known military historian whose previous books include D-Day: Piercing the Atlantic Wall, 1994, Naval Institute Press; It Never Snows in September, 1997, Sarpedon Publishers, War Without Garlands, 2000, Sarpedon Publishers.

Bibliographic information