Revenge of the Lawn, The Abortion, So the Wind Won't Blow It All Away

Front Cover
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, Feb 21, 1995 - Fiction - 544 pages
1 Review
Three unforgettable Brautigan masterpieces reissued in a one-volume omnibus edition.

REVENGE OF THE LAWN: Originally published in 1971, these bizarre flashes of insight and humor cover everything from "A High Building in Singapore" to the "Perfect California Day." This is Brautigan's only collection of stories and includes "The Lost Chapters of TROUT FISHING IN AMERICA."

THE ABORTION: AN HISTORICAL ROMANCE 1966: A public library in California where none of the books have ever been published is full of romantic possibilities. But when the librarian and his girlfriend must travel to Tijuana, they have a series of strange encounters in Brautigan's 1971 novel.

SO THE WIND WON'T BLOW IT ALL AWAY: It is 1979, and a man is recalling the events of his twelfth summer, when he bought bullets for his gun instead of a hamburger. Written just before his death, and published in 1982, this novel foreshadowed Brautigan's suicide.

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - dbsovereign - LibraryThing

Brautigan was like a god when I was a teenager. In my latter days, I still admire him. Simply: read anything of his you can get your hands on. Read full review


An Historical Romance 1966
So the Wind Wont Blow It All Away
Back Matter
Back Cover

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1995)

Richard Brautigan (1935–1984) was a god of the counterculture and the author of ten novels, nine volumes of poetry, and a collection of short stories.

Bibliographic information