Dancing at the Rascal Fair

Front Cover
Perennial Library, 1988 - Fiction - 405 pages
260 Reviews
Angus and Rob emigrate from Scotland to America to settle as sheep farmers in Montana. Rob soon marries, and Angus, eventually, falls in love with a woman that later marries another man. Angus, the narrator of the book, never recovers, and his love for her haunts the rest of his days.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Brilliant. Lovely prose. - Goodreads
Wonderful story and beautiful, evocative writing. - Goodreads
My introduction to Doig. Fun reading. - Goodreads
And a good love story. - Goodreads
I loved the writing style. - Goodreads
The writing was wonderful and lyrical. - Goodreads

Review: Dancing at the Rascal Fair (Two Medicine Trilogy #2)

User Review  - Karen Shepler - Goodreads

I love Ivan Doig's writing. This, the second in the English Creek trilogy was wonderfully written as usual. Doig has a way of capturing the Montana countryside and life in his time period, in this ... Read full review

Review: Dancing at the Rascal Fair (Two Medicine Trilogy #2)

User Review  - Gary - Goodreads

A wonderfully satisfying story of a Scottish immigrant making his way in the new territory of Montana. It is an entire life, with huge ups and downs; but its most endearing quality is the narrator's enthusiasm and delight in life and the new world in which he finds himself. Read full review

All 70 reviews »

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1988)

Ivan Doig was born in White Sulphur Springs, Montana in 1939. He received bachelor's and master's degrees in journalism from Northwestern University and a Ph.D. in history from University of Washington. Before becoming an author, he worked as a ranch hand and a journalist. His non-fiction works include This House of Sky, Winter Brothers, and Heart Earth. His fiction titles include English Creek, Dancing at the Rascal Fair, Bucking the Sun, The Whistling Season, The Bartender's Tale, and Last Bus to Wisdom. He received several awards including the Western Literature Association's Lifetime Distinguished Achievement Award and the Wallace Stegner Award in 2007. He died of multiple myeloma on April 8, 2015 at the age of 75.

Bibliographic information