The choiring of the trees: a novel

Front Cover
Harcourt Brace Jovanovich, Apr 8, 1991 - Fiction - 388 pages
2 Reviews
A young mountaineer is sentenced to the electric chair in 1914 Arkansas because of the testimony of a thirteen-year-old-girl who was raped in the backwoods of the Ozarks. Nail Chism appears doomed to death-until his innocence is championed by the staff artist of the state's leading newspaper. "A superbly rewarding novel" (Christian Science Monitor). Harvest American Writing series

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - dara85 - LibraryThing

This is the story of Nail Chism unjustly accused of raping a young girl in Arkansas in 1910. An artist from the newspaper, believes in Nail's innocence and fights for his release. Through a series of ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - woctune - LibraryThing

I think this is one of Harington's most impressive stand alone novels. Breathtaking as only electric chair humor can be. It shouldn't work, shouldn't make any sense. But it's marvelous. Grim and sad, sweet and darkly funny. Read full review


Section 1
Section 2
Section 3

14 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1991)

Donald Harington (1935 -2009) was born in Little Rock, Arkansas, and spent nearly all of his childhood summers in the Ozark mountain hamlet of Drakes Creek, his mother's hometown, where his grandparents operated the general store and post office. There, before he lost his hearing to meningitis at the age of twelve, he listened carefully to the vanishing Ozark dialect and the old tales told by local storytellers. He published his first novel in 1965, and he subsequently published fourteen more, most of them set in the Ozark hamlet of his own creation, Stay More, loosely based on Drakes Creek. Acclaimed by critics as "an undiscovered continent," "America's Chaucer," and "one of the most powerful, subtle and inventive novelists in America," Harington was the recipient of the Robert Penn Warren Award, the Porter Prize, the Heasley Prize, and the Oxford American Lifetime Achievement Award.