The Volcano Sequence

Front Cover
University of Pittsburgh Press, 2002 - Poetry - 123 pages
0 Reviews
A bold, erotic, and spiritual collection of poetry from well-respected poet and critic Alicia Suskin Ostriker, whose previous two books were both National Book Award finalists.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

The volcano sequence

User Review  - Not Available - Book Verdict

This "volcano sequence," psalmlike journal entries for the year 1999 dramatizing the conflict between a woman's need for self-actualization and the "power and shame" of religion, voices Ostriker's ... Read full review


february 1999
februarymarch 1999
marchapril 1999

2 other sections not shown

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2002)

Alicia Suskin Ostriker is one of America’s premier visionary poets and critics.  She is the author of fourteen poetry collections, including The Book of Seventy; The Mother/Child Papers; No Heaven; the volcano sequence; and The Little Space: Poems Selected and New, 1968–1998, as well as several books on the Bible.  She has received the Paterson Poetry Prize, the William Carlos Williams Award, the San Francisco State Poetry Center Award, the National Jewish Book Award, and has twice been a finalist for the National Book Award. Ostriker is Professor Emerita of English at Rutgers University and teaches in the low-residency MFA program of Drew University.

Bibliographic information