The Fifth Season: The Broken Earth, Book 1, WINNER OF THE HUGO AWARD 2016

Front Cover
Little, Brown Book Group, Aug 4, 2015 - Fiction - 432 pages

Winner of the 2016 Hugo Award for Best Novel
Book 1 in the double Hugo-Award-winning trilogy

*A New York Times Notable Book*
*Shortlisted for the World Fantasy, Nebula, Kitschies, Audie and Locus Awards*
*The inaugural book club pick*

IT STARTS WITH THE GREAT RED RIFT across the heart of the world, spewing ash that blots out the sun.
IT STARTS WITH DEATH, with a murdered son and a missing daughter.
IT STARTS WITH BETRAYAL, and long dormant wounds rising up to fester.
This is the Stillness, a land long familiar with catastrophe, where the power of the earth is wielded as a weapon. And where there is no mercy.

'Astounding' NPR
'Amazing' Ann Leckie
'Breaks uncharted ground' Library Journal
'Powerful' io9
'Elegiac, complex, and intriguing' Publishers Weekly
'Intricate and extraordinary' New York Times
'Brilliant' Washington Post

The Broken Earth trilogy is complete - beginning with The Fifth Season, continuing in The Obelisk Gate (Winner of the 2017 Hugo Award for Best Novel) and concluding with The Stone Sky (Shortlisted for the 2018 Hugo Award for Best Novel).

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - stellarexplorer -

If the book weren’t enough, I’d be intrigued by Jemisin’s unprecedented success. She is the first author ever to win the prestigious Hugo Award for Best Novel in science fiction or fantasy three years ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - kukulaj -

Maybe this is earth, but it seems to be a single continent. A time very far from our own. People are mostly regular people, but some have extraordinary powers, and some are not human at all. Lots of ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2015)

N. K. Jemisin is a Brooklyn-based author and the winner of two Hugo Awards for her novels The Fifth Season and The Obelisk Gate. She previously won the Locus Award for her first novel, The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms, and her short fiction and novels have been nominated multiple times for Hugo, World Fantasy and Nebula awards, and shortlisted for the Crawford and the James Tiptree, Jr. Awards. She is a science fiction and fantasy reviewer for the New York Times, and you can find her online at

Bibliographic information