Tooth and Claw

Front Cover
Penguin, 2006 - Fiction - 284 pages
4 Reviews

Since his first collection of stories, Descent of Man, appeared in 1979, T.C. Boyle has become an acknowledged master of the form who has transformed the nature of short fiction in our time. Among the fourteen tales in his seventh collection are the comic yet lyrical title story, in which a young man wins a vicious African cat in a bar bet; "Dogology," about a suburban woman losing her identity to a pack of strays; and "The Kind Assassin," which explores the consequences of a radio shock jock's quest to set a world record for sleeplessness. Muscular, provocative, and blurring the boundaries between humans and nature, the funny and the shocking, Tooth and Claw is Boyle at his best.


What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Citizenjoyce - LibraryThing

Engaging stories (with the audiobook read by the author) about the interplay of humanity with nature. The title story finds a man discovering the wild in a wild cat: following this is a story about a ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - the.walnut.falcon - LibraryThing

I thought "When I Woke Up...," "Jubilation," and "Chicxulub" were exceptionally good. The rest were all strong but didn't grab me quite like Boyle sometimes can. Read full review


Woke Up This Morning Everything I Had Was Gone
Swept Away
The Kind Assassin
The Swift Passage of the Animals
Rastrows Island
Here Comes
All the Wrecks Ive Crawled Out Of
Blinded by the Light
Tooth and Claw
Madam Knights Journey to New York 1702
Up Against the Wall

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2006)

T. C. Boyle is the author of eleven novels, including World's End (winner of the PEN/FaulknerAward), Drop City (a New York Times bestseller and finalist for the National Book Award), and The Inner Circle. His most recent story collections are Tooth and Claw and The Human Fly and Other Stories.

Bibliographic information