A Winter Book: Selected Stories

Front Cover
Sort Of, 2006 - Autobiographical fiction, Swedish - 208 pages
3 Reviews
Following the widely acclaimed and bestselling The Summer Book, here is A Winter Book collection of some of Tove Jansson's best loved and most famous stories. Drawn from youth and older age, and spanning most of the twentieth century, this newly translated selection provides a thrilling showcase of the great Finnish writer's prose, scattered with insights and home truths. It has been selected and is introduced by Ali Smith.A Winter Book features 13 stories from Tove Jansson's first book for adults,The Sculptor's Daughter (1968) plus 7 of her most cherished later stories (from 1971 to 1996), translated into English and published here for the first time.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - pokarekareana - LibraryThing

I wanted to like this book more than I really did. The stories are well-written and have some beautiful images, but after a time, it began to feel like they were part of a longer, disjointed prose, rather than a set of short stories. Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - RandyMetcalfe - LibraryThing

Tove Jansson’s stories beguile. Most are set on or near the islands off the coast of Finland. Most are quasi-autobiographical. Raised in a family of artists, she knows the pleasures and the effort ... Read full review


Introduction by AIz Smith

8 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2006)

The writer and artist Tove Jansson (1914-2001) is best known as the creator of the Moomin stories, which have been published in thirty-five languages. The Summer Book, also published by Sort of Books, was one of ten titles that she wrote for adults.

Bibliographic information