The Constants of Nature: The Numbers That Encode the Deepest Secrets of the Universe

Front Cover
Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group, May 6, 2009 - Science - 368 pages
3 Reviews
Reality as we know it is bound by a set of constants—numbers and values that dictate the strengths of forces like gravity, the speed of light, and the masses of elementary particles. In The Constants of Nature, Cambridge Professor and bestselling author John D.Barrow takes us on an exploration of these governing principles. Drawing on physicists such as Einstein and Planck, Barrow illustrates with stunning clarity our dependence on the steadfastness of these principles. But he also suggests that the basic forces may have been radically different during the universe’s infancy, and suggests that they may continue a deeply hidden evolution. Perhaps most tantalizingly, Barrow theorizes about the realities that might one day be found in a universe with different parameters than our own.

From the Trade Paperback edition.

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - HadriantheBlind - LibraryThing

Nice and easy overview of some of the most underlying concepts of physical science. A bit slow in the beginning, but really picks up in the later chapters. Read full review

THE CONSTANTS OF NATURE: From Alpha to Omega--the Numbers that Encode the Deepest Secrets of the Universe

User Review  - Jane Doe - Kirkus

Energy is mass times a constant squared. Patient mathematical explainer Barrow (The Book of Nothing, 2001, etc.) delivers a scholarly though always accessible account of the search for that constant ... Read full review


Superhuman Standards
The Quest for a Theory
Eddingrons Unfinished Symphony
The Mystery of die Very Large Numbers
Biology and die Srars
Altering Consranrs and Rewriting Hisrorv
New Dimensions
Variations on a Constant Theme
Reach lor rhc
Other Worlds and Big Questions

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2009)

John D. Barrow is professor of mathematical sciences at the University of Cambridge. His previous books include The Book of Nothing, Theories of Everything, The Artful Universe, Between Inner Space and Outer Space, The Universe That Discovered Itself, and The Origin of the Universe. He lives in England.

From the Trade Paperback edition.

Bibliographic information