The Maze Runner 1

Front Cover
Delacorte Press, 2009 - Juvenile Fiction - 375 pages
1298 Reviews
The first book in the "New York Times" bestselling Maze Runner series--"The Maze Runner" is a modern classic, perfect for fans of "The Hunger Games" and "Divergent."
When Thomas wakes up in the lift, the only thing he can remember is his first name. His memory is blank. But he's not alone. When the lift's doors open, Thomas finds himself surrounded by kids who welcome him to the Glade--a large, open expanse surrounded by stone walls.
Just like Thomas, the Gladers don't know why or how they got to the Glade. All they know is that every morning the stone doors to the maze that surrounds them have opened. Every night they've closed tight. And every thirty days a new boy has been delivered in the lift.
Thomas was expected. But the next day, a girl is sent up--the first girl to ever arrive in the Glade. And more surprising yet is the message she delivers.
Thomas might be more important than he could ever guess. If only he could unlock the dark secrets buried within his mind.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
431
4 stars
416
3 stars
245
2 stars
144
1 star
62

Review: The Maze Runner (The Maze Runner #1)

User Review  - Goodreads

** New Update I bump up the rating of this book from 2 stars to 4 because the movie was good. I think books like the Maze Runner only had good actions. The main character is flat. But fortunately, the ... Read full review

Review: The Maze Runner (The Maze Runner #1)

User Review  - Goodreads

I probably would have liked it more if I liked Thomas but he was so annoying God Read full review

All 13 reviews »

Other editions - View all

About the author (2009)

JAMES DASHNER is the author of the "New York Times" bestselling Maze Runner series as well as the books in the 13th Reality series and Infinity Ring Book 1: "A""Mutiny in Time." He was born and raised in Georgia but now lives and writes in the Rocky Mountains. To learn more about him and his books, visit JamesDashner.com.

Bibliographic information