God Among the Shakers: Search for Stillness & Faith at Sabbathday Lake

Front Cover
Hyperion, Mar 3, 1999 - Religion - 288 pages
7 Reviews
In the tradition of "Plain and Simple" and "The Cloister Walk", this book offers a rare, intimate account of one woman's journey into the world of the Shakers--a radical Christian sect whose belief in a Mother-Father God, equal rights for all, and direct interaction with the spirits of the dead shocked other established religious communities Print ads. NPR sponsorships .

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
0
4 stars
1
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
1

Review: God Among the Shakers: The Search for Stillness and Faith at Sabbathday Lake

User Review  - Ann Gabhart - Goodreads

A research book for me. This is a story about a writer who goes to live with the present day Shakers in Sabbathday Lake, Maine. Written in the late nineties. It helped me see the Shaker religion in a new light and how their beliefs softened somewhat and changed over the years. Nicely written. Read full review

Review: God Among the Shakers: The Search for Stillness and Faith at Sabbathday Lake

User Review  - Diane - Goodreads

Although I loved hearing the voices of the members of the Sabbathday Lake Shaker community (Brothers Wayne and Arnold, Sister Frances), I really disliked this book. I couldn't help but feel that the ... Read full review

Contents

Prologue i
1
Survival
15
Revolution
41
Copyright

4 other sections not shown

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1999)

Skees holds a master's degree in world religions from Harvard University. She writes on women's spirituality and international religion for national publications.

Bibliographic information