God Among the Shakers: Search for Stillness & Faith at Sabbathday Lake

Front Cover
Hyperion, Mar 3, 1999 - Religion - 288 pages
2 Reviews
In the tradition of "Plain and Simple" and "The Cloister Walk", this book offers a rare, intimate account of one woman's journey into the world of the Shakers--a radical Christian sect whose belief in a Mother-Father God, equal rights for all, and direct interaction with the spirits of the dead shocked other established religious communities Print ads. NPR sponsorships .

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

GOD AMONG THE SHAKERS: A Search for Stillness and Faith at Sabbathday Lake

User Review  - Jane Doe - Kirkus

Skees weaves together a popular history of Shakerism with an account of her month-long visit to Sabbathday Lake in Maine, the last living community of Shaker sisters and brethren. Skees, a journalist ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - DSlongwhite - LibraryThing

A well-written book with very descriptive language and lots of information. The author was a theologian, married with three young sons who wondered if she would want to become a Shaker if she spent an extended period of time with them. She takes the reader along on her journey of discovery. Read full review

Contents

Prologue i
1
Survival
15
Revolution
41
Copyright

4 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1999)

Skees holds a master's degree in world religions from Harvard University. She writes on women's spirituality and international religion for national publications.

Bibliographic information