The Penderwicks: A Summer Tale Of Four Sisters, Two Rabbits, And A Very Interesting Boy

Front Cover
Knopf, 2005 - Juvenile Fiction - 262 pages
3 Reviews
A National Book Award winner, this modern classic is perfect for fans of Noel Streatfeild and Edward Eager.

This summer the Penderwick sisters have a wonderful surprise: a holiday on the grounds of a beautiful estate called Arundel. Soon they are busy discovering the summertime magic of Arundel’s sprawling gardens, treasure-filled attic, tame rabbits, and the cook who makes the best gingerbread in Massachusetts. But the best discovery of all is Jeffrey Tifton, son of Arundel’s owner, who quickly proves to be the perfect companion for their adventures.

The icy-hearted Mrs. Tifton is not as pleased with the Penderwicks as Jeffrey is, though, and warns the new friends to stay out of trouble. Which, of course, they will—won’t they? One thing’s for sure: it will be a summer the Penderwicks will never forget.

Deliciously nostalgic and quaintly witty, this is a story as breezy and carefree as a summer day.

What people are saying - Write a review

THE PENDERWICKS: A Summer Tale of Four Sisters, Two Rabbits, and a Very Interesting Boy

User Review  - Jane Doe - Kirkus

Echoes of Alcott contribute to the intimate charm of this story of "summer and magic and adventure." Not since the Marches have readers met more engaging girls than the Penderwicks: Rosalind, 12 ... Read full review

So much fun to read!

User Review  - Kids Bookseller - Borders

I LOVED this book! This is such a down to earth family-fun story that I had a smile on my face nearly the entire time! There are some serious aspects to the story too, but all in all this is mostly about the importance of family and friendship and doing what's right. Read full review


ONE A Boy at the Window
TWO A Tunnel Through the Hedge
SIX Rabbits and a Long Ladder
EIGHT The Birthday Dinner
ELEVEN Another Rescue
TWELVE Sir Barnaby Patterne
THIRTEEN The Piano Lesson
FOURTEEN A Midnight Adventure
FIFTEEN The Shredded Book
SEVENTEEN The NexttoLast Day
EIGHTEEN Goodbye for Now

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2005)

When JEANNE BIRDSALL was young, she promised herself she'd be a writer someday--so she could write books for children to read and enjoy, just as she did at her local library. She is now the author of the Penderwicks series: The Penderwicks, The Penderwicks on Gardam Street, and The Penderwicks at Point Mouette. She lives in Massachusetts with her husband. 

From the Trade Paperback edition.

Bibliographic information