The Penderwicks: A Summer Tale Of Four Sisters, Two Rabbits, And A Very Interesting Boy

Front Cover
Knopf, 2005 - Juvenile Fiction - 262 pages
74 Reviews
A National Book Award winner, this modern classic is perfect for fans of Noel Streatfeild and Edward Eager.

This summer the Penderwick sisters have a wonderful surprise: a holiday on the grounds of a beautiful estate called Arundel. Soon they are busy discovering the summertime magic of Arundel’s sprawling gardens, treasure-filled attic, tame rabbits, and the cook who makes the best gingerbread in Massachusetts. But the best discovery of all is Jeffrey Tifton, son of Arundel’s owner, who quickly proves to be the perfect companion for their adventures.

The icy-hearted Mrs. Tifton is not as pleased with the Penderwicks as Jeffrey is, though, and warns the new friends to stay out of trouble. Which, of course, they will—won’t they? One thing’s for sure: it will be a summer the Penderwicks will never forget.

Deliciously nostalgic and quaintly witty, this is a story as breezy and carefree as a summer day.
 

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
36
4 stars
22
3 stars
12
2 stars
4
1 star
0

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - BookConcierge - LibraryThing

Audio book narrated by Susan Denaker The four Penderwick sisters and their father always have taken a beach cottage on Cape Cod. At least until this summer, when their summer retreat has been sold ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - thornton37814 - LibraryThing

What a delightful book for young readers! The Penderwick family -- father, four daughters, and dog -- are renting a cottage on Cape Cod for summer vacation. They enjoy fun adventures, make friends ... Read full review

Contents

ONE A Boy at the Window
1
TWO A Tunnel Through the Hedge
14
THREE The MOOPS
29
SIX Rabbits and a Long Ladder
67
EIGHT The Birthday Dinner
94
ELEVEN Another Rescue
145
TWELVE Sir Barnaby Patterne
155
THIRTEEN The Piano Lesson
175
FOURTEEN A Midnight Adventure
191
FIFTEEN The Shredded Book
204
SEVENTEEN The NexttoLast Day
235
EIGHTEEN Goodbye for Now
250
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2005)

When JEANNE BIRDSALL was young, she promised herself she'd be a writer someday--so she could write books for children to read and enjoy, just as she did at her local library. She is now the author of the Penderwicks series: The Penderwicks, The Penderwicks on Gardam Street, and The Penderwicks at Point Mouette. She lives in Massachusetts with her husband. 




From the Trade Paperback edition.

Bibliographic information