Shadow Men

Front Cover
Open Road Media, Oct 14, 2010 - Fiction - 202 pages
1 Review

Book three of the bestselling Max Freeman mystery series: Max seeks to uncover the twisted truth behind an eighty-year-old triple homicide

In the 1920s, three of Mark Mayes’s ancestors left to help build the first road through the Everglades—backbreaking labor from which they never returned. Now, decades later, Mayes has discovered letters that point to murder as the cause of their disappearance, and he hires Max Freeman to get to the bottom of it all. But as Freeman follows the trail of evidence, he incurs the wrath of the corporation that built the road, and finds that the murder case may not be as cold as everyone assumed. Freeman’s search takes him to the heart of the Everglades to reveal the truth behind the murders—and put a stop to a cycle of violence three generations in the making. This ebook contains an illustrated biography of the author featuring never-before-seen photos.

What people are saying - Write a review


User Review  - Not Available - Book Verdict

Edgar Award-winning King has returned with his protagonist Max Freeman in another compelling and mysterious adventure. Former Philadelphia cop Max is now a private investigator in Florida, and his ... Read full review

Shadow men

User Review  - Not Available - Book Verdict

The maddeningly depressing Max Freeman lightens up a little in King's third novel featuring the Everglades-based cop turned P.I. This one starts simply enough: a young man hires Max and his lawyer ... Read full review


Chapter 2
Chapter 3
Chapter 4
Chapter 5
Chapter 6
Chapter 7
Chapter 14
Chapter 15
Chapter 16
Chapter 17
Chapter 18
Chapter 19
Chapter 20
Chapter 21

Chapter 8
Chapter 9
Chapter 10
Chapter 11
Chapter 12
Chapter 13
Chapter 22
Chapter 23
Chapter 24
A Biography of Jonathon King

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2010)

Jonathon King is an Edgar Award–winning mystery novelist and the creator of the bestselling Max Freeman crime series. Born in Lansing, Michigan, in the 1950s, King worked as a crime reporter in Philadelphia and Fort Lauderdale for twenty-four years before becoming a full-time novelist. Along with the seven books of the Max Freeman series, King has authored the thriller Eye of Vengeance (2007) and the historical novel The Styx (2009).

Bibliographic information