Front Cover
Washington Square Press, Jul 1, 1995 - Fiction - 352 pages
The third entry in Howard's magnificent trio of novels takes the Cazalets from the dark, middle period of World War II to VE Day, May 8, 1945. The characters--including beautiful Zoe, philandering Edward, and passionate, troubled Louise--find the turmoil of those long, somber days echoed in the inner chaos of their own lives.

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - starbox - LibraryThing

Wonderful family saga set against WW2 By sally tarbox on 8 March 2018 Format: Audible Audio Edition Fabulous- you start reading this series and have to work through all five volumes as the characters ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - KayCliff - LibraryThing

I do find the author's way of using the third person pronoun to start each section of the narrative, giving no name, so you're some way in before you discover or work out which character is featured ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (1995)

Elizabeth Jane Howard was born in London, England on March 26, 1923. She was educated by governesses at home. Her first novel, The Beautiful Visit, was published in 1950 and won the John Llewellyn Rhys prize. Her other works include the series the Cazalet Chronicles, Falling, and the autobiography Slipstream. The first two novels of the Cazalet Chronicles, The Light Years and Marking Time, became the BBC TV series The Cazalets in 2001. The other books in the series are Confusion, Casting Off, and All Change. She also edited several anthologies and wrote short stories, articles, television plays, film scripts and a book on food with Fay Maschler. She was made a CBE in 2000. She died on January 2, 2014 at the age of 90.

Bibliographic information