Free Fall: A gripping racing thriller exploring greed in its deadliest form

Front Cover
Headline, Mar 4, 2010 - Fiction - 271 pages
0 Reviews

The need to win can push some people over the edge...

John Francome explores greed and expectation in his electrifying racing thriller Free Fall. The perfect read for fans of Felix Francis' Pulse and Triple Crown.

'Curiosity and clever writing will compel you to keep reading this tough and torrid tale... a fun read' - Horse & Hound

Jockey Pat Vincent has ambitions to win the best races and become a wealthy sporting hero. But Pat knows his dreams will never be fulfilled so he's devised a brilliant new scam which, if discovered, would see him warned off for life. But first it's guaranteed to make him rich.
Pat's girlfriend Zoe is starting her second full season as an apprentice jockey. A talented rider, she has a chance of becoming champion apprentice, if she's not side tracked by the disasters of her sister Harriet's unhappy marriage...
Along the crumbling cliffs in Somerset a man walks his dog. Every day Andy Burns - Pat's partner-in-crime, Harriet's tortured husband - wrestles with the demons that haunt his life. But Andy would be better off keeping his thoughts on the ground - it's a long way down to the beach below.

What readers are saying about Free Fall:

'So many twists and turns the reader isn't sure which way the storyline will go'

'Brilliant!'

'He [Francome] gets better and better'

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Other editions - View all

About the author (2010)

Ex-National Hunt Champion Jockey John Francome is a broadcaster on racing for Channel 4. His electrifying racing thrillers have also won him legions of fans. He lives in Berkshire.

Bibliographic information