Past Perfect, Present Tense

Front Cover
Penguin Young Readers Group, Apr 6, 2006 - Juvenile Fiction - 177 pages
3 Reviews

Compiled for the first time, here are all of Newbery Award– winning author Richard Peck's previously published short stories and two brand-new ones. From comedy to tragedy to historical to contemporary; from "Priscilla and the Wimps," Peck's first short story, to "Shotgun Cheatham's Last Night Above Ground," which inspired both A Long Way from Chicago and A Year Down Yonder, to "The Electric Summer," Peck's jumping-off point for Fair Weather, readers will thrill at Peck's engaging short fiction. Complete with the author's own notes on the stories as well as tips and hints for aspiring writers and two new stories, this vibrant and varied collection offers something for everyone.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

Read it.

User Review  - emilyh - Borders

Richard Peck has been a favorite author of mine for years and this once again confirmed all the good things about his writing that I knew to be true. The stories are insightful, entertaining, and a ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - rhoard - LibraryThing

My favorites in this short story collection: Shotgun Cheatham's Last Night Abovve Ground By Far the Worst Pupil at Long Point School The Most Important Night of Melanie's Life (ghost story might be enjoyed by 4th and 5th graders as a read aloud) Fluffy the Gangbuster The Three-Century Woman Read full review


The First
The Electric Summer
Shotgun Cheathams Last Night Above Ground

7 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2006)

Richard Peck was born in Decatur, Illinois on April 5, 1934. He received a bachelor's degree in English from DePauw University in 1956. After college, he was drafted into the army and served as a soldier in Germany, ghost-writing sermons for chaplains. After the war, he became an English teacher, lecturing to middle school students in Illinois and New York City. While still teaching, he wrote a column on the architecture of historic neighborhoods for the New York Times and contributed articles to the Saturday Review of Literature and the Chicago Tribune as well as other magazines and newspapers. He stopped teaching in 1971 to write a novel. His first book, Don't Look and It Won't Hurt, was published in 1972. He has written more than 30 books for both adults and young adults. A Year down Yonder won the Newbery Medal in 2001 and Are You in the House Alone? won an Edgar Award. In 1990, he received the MAE Award, a prestigious award sponsored by the Young Adult Library Services Association of the American Library Association in cooperation with School Library Journal. His books have also received or been finalists for the National Book Award, ALA Notable Books, ALA Best Books for Young Adults, and the Margaret A. Edwards Award.

Bibliographic information