Front Cover
Macmillan, 1983 - Fiction - 368 pages
37 Reviews
Molly, a young television production assistant, and her lover, Martin, struggle for survival against a monstrous, diabolical force created by Molly and her fellow participants in a scientific experiment in prophetic dreaming

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Review: Incarnate

User Review  - Goodreads

Really interesting for the first 80%, in terms of making me, the reader, feel a little insane myself trying to figure out what was real in the book and what wasn't- really tense, oppressive horror ... Read full review

Review: Incarnate

User Review  - Mike - Goodreads

The first horror writer I ever read who knew the streets I knew and wrote about characters that seemed to be from my life. If anyone can be said to have inspired my belief that horror can be written ... Read full review


Section 1
Section 2
Section 3

19 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1983)

John Ramsey Campbell was born January 4, 1946 in Liverpool, England. He is a horror fiction author and editor. At the age of 11 he wrote a collection called Ghostly Tales which was published as a special issue of Crypt of Cthulhu magazine titled- Ghostly Tales- Crypt of Cthulhu 6. He continued to write and later published his collection called The Inhabitant of the Lake and Less Welcome Tenants. At the suggestion of August Derleth, he rewrote many of his earliest stories, which he had originally set in the Massachusetts locales of Arkham, Dunwich and Innsmouth, and relocated them to English settings in and around the fictional Gloucestershire city of Brichester. The invented locale of Brichester was deeply influenced by Campbell's native Liverpool, and much of his later work is set in the real locales of Liverpool. In particular, his 2005 novel Secret Stories both exemplifies and satirizes Liverpoolian speech, characters and humor. John Campbell's titles include The Doll Who Ate His Mother, The One Safe Place , The Seven Days of Cain and The Last Revelation of Gla'aki.

Bibliographic information