Fair Peril

Front Cover
Avon Books, 1996 - Fiction - 246 pages
2 Reviews
Frumpy, fortyish storyteller Buffy Murphy has already been unceremoniously dumped by a toad of an ex-husband. The last thing she needs is another needy male passing himself off as an enchanted prince. And since the talking frog she carries home from a Pennsylvania pond could be far more valuable to her in his froggy form, she blithely ignores his pleas for a spell-breaking kiss. Her beautiful teenage princess, Emily, however, is far more easily seduced - though Buffy has tried to warn her rebellious daughter where a simple kiss can lead. And right now, it is leading them both - and a hunky blond former amphibian named Prince Adamus - to the mall. For somewhere between the Gap and The Limited lies the magical realm of Fair Peril - where everything is itself yet something other, where wishes become punishments...and where only a dutiful mother's considerable power of storytelling can salvage a child's future and a daughter's love.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review


User Review  - Jane Doe - Kirkus

While walking beside a Pennsylvania pond, storyteller Buffy Murphy—flabby, dowdy, fortysomething—encounters a talking frog: Prince Adamus d`Aurca, who was ensorcelled (``trans-frogrified'') a ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - amberwitch - LibraryThing

Told from the point of view of 3 generations of women - personifying the mother, the maiden and the crone - Fair Peril is primarily the story of Buffy, a middleaged storyteller, and her quest for ... Read full review


Section 1
Section 2
Section 3

11 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1996)

Nancy Springer was born in Montclair, New Jersey on July 5, 1948. She received a degree in English literature from Gettysburg College in 1970. She has written about 40 books for children, young adults, and adults including the Sea King Trilogy, the Tales of Rowan Hood series, the Book of Isle Trilogy, and the Enola Holmes Mystery series. She has won numerous awards including the James Tiptree, Jr. Award, the Joan Fassler Memorial Book Award, and two Edgar Allen Poe Awards.

Bibliographic information