Will you please be quiet, please?: The stories of Raymond Carver

Front Cover
McGraw-Hill, 1976 - Fiction - 249 pages
157 Reviews

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
66
4 stars
53
3 stars
23
2 stars
7
1 star
8

Beautiful laconic prose. - Goodreads
Amazing prose from the master. - Goodreads
All of his shorts are wonderful, slice of life stories. - Goodreads
Pure poetry in prose. - Goodreads
You could almost feel Carver's progression as a writer. - Goodreads

Review: Will You Please Be Quiet, Please?

User Review  - Shelley Rose - Goodreads

What took me so long to discover Raymond Carver? Like a surgeon, he expertly slices his characters open and trains a practiced, unflinching (if somewhat jaundiced) eye on what ails them. Each short ... Read full review

Review: Will You Please Be Quiet, Please?

User Review  - Katherine - Goodreads

This is my first attempt to read anything by Raymond Carver other than his story "Cathedral," which I remember as amazing, though it's been a long time. I've only read about four of the stories so far ... Read full review

Contents

Section 1
v
Section 2
7
Section 3
15

15 other sections not shown

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1976)

Born in 1938 in an Oregon logging town, Raymond Carver grew up in Yakima, From California he went to Iowa to attend the Iowa Writers Workshop. Soon, however, he returned to California, where he worked at a number of unskilled jobs before obtaining a teaching position. Widely acclaimed as the most important short story writer of his generation, Carver writes about the kind of lower-middle-class people whom he knew growing up. His characters are waitresses, mechanics, postmen, high school teachers, factory workers, door-to-door salesmen who lead drab lives because of limited funds. Critics have said that may have the most distinctive vision of the working class. Nominated posthumously for both a National Book Critics Circle Award (1988) and a Pulitzer Prize (1989) for Where I'm Calling From: New and Selected Stories (1988), Carver is one of a handful of writers credited with reviving the short story form. Some have put Carver in the tradition of Ernest Hemingway and Stephen Crane. Carver's stories tend to be brief, with enigmatic endings, although never erupting. Violence is often just below the surface. An air of quiet desperation pervades his stories, as Carver explores the collapse of human relationships in bleak circumstances. In later works, Carver strikes a note of redemption, unheard at the beginning of his career. But for readers who are not attuned to Carver's voice of resignation, these moments may sound sentimental and unconvincing. Carver died of lung cancer in 1988.

Bibliographic information