Front Cover
Thorndike Press, 2011 - Juvenile Fiction - 801 pages
3 Reviews
The year 2009 marks the 200-year anniversary of Charles Darwin's birth. This timely update of The Evolution Wars draws on history, science, and philosophy to examine the development of evolutionary thought through the past two and a half centuries. With two and a half centuries of evolutionary thought, in one all-inclusive volume, this thought-provoking encyclopedia is a much-needed resource in public libraries, and university collections.

What people are saying - Write a review


User Review  - kinao -

First of all no problems with the book itself at all. This book is AMAZING. I love the story and the characters. Its worth a read! I look forward to the sequel. I am not afraid to buy books from overstock either. Read full review

Review: Pathfinder (Pathfinder #1)

User Review  - Rod Hyatt - Goodreads

Looking in the library for an other book and found this one. Did a goodreads scan and it looked interesting. I marked it to-read on my phone and checked it out. Headed home and began to read and it ... Read full review

All 3 reviews »

Other editions - View all

About the author (2011)

Orson Scott Byron Walley Card, was born in 1951 and studied theater at Brigham Young University. He received his B.A. in 1975 and his M.A. in English in 1981. He wrote plays during that time, including Stone Tables (1973) and the musical, Father, Mother, Mother and Mom (1974). A Mormon, Scott served a two-year mission in Brazil before starting work as a journalist in Utah. He also designed games at Lucas Film Games, 1989-92. He is best known for his science fiction novels, including the popular Ender series. Well known titles include A Planet Called Treason (1979), Treasure Box (1996), and Heartfire (1998). He has also written the guide called How to Write Science Fiction and Fantasy (1990). His novel Ender's Game and its sequel Speaker for the Dead, both won Hugo and Nebula awards, making Card the only author to win both prizes in consecutive years. His titles Shadows in Flight, Ruins and Ender's Game made The New York Times Best Seller List. He is also the author of The First Formic War Series, which includes the titles Earth Unaware, Earth Afire, and Earth Awakens.

Bibliographic information