Misspent Youth

Front Cover
Pan, 2003 - Genetic engineering - 438 pages
74 Reviews

It is forty years in the future and, following decades of research and trillions of euros spent on genetics, Europe is finally in a position to rejuvenate a human being. The first subjest chosen for treatment is Jeff Baker, the father of the datasphere (whihc replaced the Internet) and philanthropist extraordinaire. After 18 months in a German medical facility , the 78-year-old patient returns home looking like a healthy 20-year-old.

Misspent Youth follows the effect his reappearance has on his friends and family - his young ex-model wife Sue, his teeenage son Tim, and his long term pals, themselves all pensioners, who are starting to resent what Jeff has become.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Well. I liked the premise. - Goodreads
An interesting premise with.uninspired execution. - Goodreads
The plot felt a little thing. - Goodreads

Review: Misspent Youth (Commonwealth Universe)

User Review  - Shane Moore - Goodreads

An interesting premise with.uninspired execution. I wanted to read what life might be like for the first person made young again, but the actual story was banal and predictable. This book is only 13 ... Read full review

Review: Misspent Youth (Commonwealth Universe)

User Review  - Matthew G - Goodreads

What can i say. I feel like I've wasted an entire lifetime reading this. Some parts were good, like the near future world and the political side of it, but all that was subplot! The main plotline felt ... Read full review

All 17 reviews »

About the author (2003)

Peter F. Hamilton was born in Rutland in 1960, and still lives near Rutland Water. His previous novels are the Greg Mandel series and the bestselling 'Night’s Dawn' trilogy: The Reality Dysfunction , The Neutronium Alchemist and The Naked God. Also published by Macmillan (and Pan) is A Second Chance at Eden, a novella and six short stories, and The Confederation Handbook, a vital guide to the ‘Night’s Dawn' trilogy. His most recent novels were Fallen Dragon and the Commonwealth Saga novels, Pandora's Star and Judas Unchained, the latter to be published in hardcover in October 2005.

Bibliographic information