Brideshead Revisited: The Sacred and Profane Memories of Captain Charles Ryder

Front Cover
Penguin, 2008 - Catholics - 325 pages
Evelyn Waugh's most celebrated novel is a memory drama about the intense entanglement of the narrator, Charles Ryder, with a great Anglo-Catholic family. Written during World War II, the novel mourns the passing of the aristocratic world Waugh knew in his youth and vividly recalls the sensuous plea?sures denied him by wartime austerities; in so doing it also provides a profound study of the conflict between the demands of religion and the desires of the flesh. At once romantic, sensuous, comic, and somber, Brideshead Revisited transcends Waugh's familiar satiric exploration of his cast of lords and ladies, Catholics and eccentrics, artists and misfits, revealing him to be an elegiac, lyrical novelist of the utmost feeling and lucidity.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - jostie13 - LibraryThing

"O God, make me good, but not yet." This book has all of the fun stuff: alcoholism, overbearing family, an ambiguously gay duo, a large English estate, Catholics (lapsed and otherwise), a grown man ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - larryking1 - LibraryThing

"Brideshead, a name that was so familiar to me, a conjuror's name of such magic power, that, at its ancient sound, the phantoms of those haunted late years began to take flight." Sigh! What a great ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2008)

Evelyn Waugh was born in Hampstead in 1903, second son of Arthur Waugh, publisher and literary critic, and brother of Alec Waugh, the popular novelist. He was educated at Lancing and Hertford College, Oxford, where he read Modern History. In 1928 he published his first work, a life of Dante Gabriel Rossetti, and his first novel, Decline and Fall, which was soon followed by Vile Bodies(1930), Black Mischief(1932), A Handful of Dust (1934) and Scoop (1938). During these years he travelled extensively in most parts of Europe, the Near East, Africa and tropical America, and published a number of travel books, including Labels(1930), Remote People(1931), Ninety-Two Days(1934) and Waugh in Abyssinia(1936).

In 1939 he was commissioned in the Royal Marines and later transferred to the Royal Horse Guards, serving in the Middle East and in Yugoslavia. In 1942 he published Put Out More Flagsand then in 1945 Brideshead Revisited. When the Going was Goodand The Loved Onepreceded Men at Arms, which came out in 1952, the first volume of 'The Sword of Honour'trilogy, and won the James Tait Black Memorial Prize. The other volumes, Officers and Gentlemenand Unconditional Surrender, followed in 1955 and 1961. In 1964 he published his last book, A Little Learning

Bibliographic information