The Strangers

Front Cover
Penguin, 2013 - Juvenile Fiction - 308 pages
2 Reviews
In the fourth volume of the New York Times bestselling Books of Elsewhere series, Olive thought she had uncovered all the house's secrets. She was wrong.

It's Halloween night when strangers come to Linden Street . . . and something absolutely vital to Olive goes missing. To what lengths will she go to get it back? Can she trust the strangers? Will she turn to a new and dangerous magic within the paintings of Elsewhere? Or will Olive put her faith in her own worst enemies to save the people and home she loves?

The stakes grow higher, the secrets more dangerous, and mystery and magic abound as Olive, the boys, and the magical cats uncover the true nature of the old stone house on Linden Street.

A must-read fantasy series for fans of Pseudonymous Bosch, Coraline, and Septimus Heap.
 

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - MillieHennessy - LibraryThing

Another solid book in the series about a girl whose house was previously owned by witches and contains living paintings. As I say every time, not enough illustrations. I love the style and they add to ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - CurrerBell - LibraryThing

This series continues getting better, and this installment introduces some new characters as well (a family of magicians, including one particularly lunk-headed member, regarding which no more to ... Read full review

Selected pages

Contents

Section 1
1
Section 2
9
Section 3
25
Section 4
45
Section 5
53
Section 6
63
Section 7
72
Section 8
86
Section 14
180
Section 15
190
Section 16
200
Section 17
221
Section 18
237
Section 19
250
Section 20
265
Section 21
271

Section 9
100
Section 10
115
Section 11
137
Section 12
151
Section 13
165
Section 22
280
Section 23
294
Section 24
300
Section 25
310
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2013)

A two-time Pushcart nominee for poetry, Jacqueline West lives amid the bluffs of Red Wing, Minnesota, with her husband and their dog, Brom Bones. This is her fourth novel.

Bibliographic information