Shadow Country

Front Cover
Random House Publishing Group, Aug 19, 2008 - Fiction - 912 pages
3 Reviews


Peter Matthiessen’s great American epic–Killing Mister Watson, Lost Man’s River, and Bone by Bone–was conceived as one vast mysterious novel, but because of its length it was originally broken up into three books. In this bold new rendering, Matthiessen has cut nearly a third of the overall text and collapsed the time frame while deepening the insights and motivations of his characters with brilliant rewriting throughout. In Shadow Country, he has marvelously distilled a monumental work, realizing his original vision.


What people are saying - Write a review

Phenominal Book

User Review  - lovebeach -

I dont write book reviews as you will be able to tell but I was prompted to write a review about this book. It was a wonderful book which I understand is a combination of three books that I have not ... Read full review

User Review - Flag as inappropriate

A bit of Faulkner, a bit of Twain. In the [first part of the] story told by multiple narrators - each gives their own take on the life of E.J. Watson. The second part on how Watson's history comes to be written [by a son], and the third part told by Watson himself. You know from the beginning that he's going to be killed, but it's only when you finish that you find out why. The number of relatives and other characters in the story is a bit daunting, but stick with it. If you're like I was, when you finish, you'll want to start again at the beginning.  

Selected pages

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2008)

Peter Matthiessen has written eight novels, including At Play in the Fields of the Lord (nominated for the National Book Award) and Far Tortuga, and also a book of short stories, On the River Styx. His parallel career as a naturalist and environmental activist has produced numerous acclaimed works of nonfiction, most of them serialized in The New Yorker; these include The Tree Where Man Was Born (another National Book Award nominee) and The Snow Leopard (a National Book Award winner). He was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Letters in 1974.

From the Hardcover edition.

Bibliographic information