Selected poems, 1956-1994

Front Cover
Oxford University Press, Jun 1, 1995 - Poetry - 116 pages
From early work on Australian suburbs to the more public and international playfulness of his contemporary poetry, Chris Wallace-Crabbe has selected poems from eleven collections published between 1959 and 1993 for this book. The poet sought to include poems that, in the mind of his friends, critics, and not least, himself, still "worked." He also intended this selection to bear witness of his past selves in poetry. The poems trace an arc from his life in Australia to the "combination of seriousness and decorative hedonism" found in his poetry today. The result is a fascinating overview of a poet whose style reveals the depth, joy, and fragility of language.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.


From The Music of Division 1959
From The Rebel General 1967
From The Foundations of Joy 1976

7 other sections not shown

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1995)

About the Author:
Chris Wallace-Crabbe is also the author of The Amorous Cannibal (1985), I'm Deadly Serious (1988), and For Crying Out Loud (1990), all published by Oxford.

Bibliographic information